Darwin Core Hour & 2 BBQs: Imagining a global gazetteer of georeferences

Add this event to your calendar:

Add to My Calendar
Wed, 2020-04-29 16:27 -- dpaul

UPDATE:

Register Here if you plan to attend BBQ session 2 - on Thurday 7 May.

Darwin Core Hour BBQ 2 (Thursday 7 May 2020, 20:00-22:00 UTC) Zoom Link Here (for DwC Hour BBQ2)

Summary of the discussion in the chat during the DwC Hour Webinar from 4 May.


UPDATE:
On Vimeo: Darwin Core Hour Recording for Imagining a global gazetteer of georeferences.

Title:Darwin Core Hour & 2 BBQs: Imagining a global gazetteer of georeferences

(in Calendar - follow this link for the URL to the webinar link https://www.idigbio.org/content/darwin-core-hour-2-bbqs-imagining-global...)

Date: Monday, 4 May 2020 (and Thursday May 7th)
Where: Zoom Link Here (for DwC Hour and BBQ1)
Times:

  1. Darwin Core Hour Time (~1 Hour 13:00 to 14:00 UTC): 9:00 AM EDT, 10:00 AM ART, 14:00 BST, 15:00 CEST, 13:00 GMT Click for your local time.
  2. Darwin Core Hour BBQ 1 (Monday 4 May 2020, 14:00 to 16:00 UTC) just after the Webinar.
  3. Darwin Core Hour BBQ 2 (Thursday 7 May 2020, 20:00-22:00 UTC) 4:00 PM EDT, 5:00 PM ART, 9:00 PM BST, 10:00 PM CEST, 20:00 GMT

ABSTRACT: We want our georeferencing to be just right: complete, as accurate as possible, and usable for research. However, it takes a great effort and resources to do so, right? Although the majority of the records shared online are not georeferenced, we have invested a huge, collective effort already; there ARE a lot of georeferenced locations already published. In GBIF, for example, there are >54M unique location strings that are georeferenced, affecting >530M occurrence records. We know that many collection/observation sites tend to be repeated across institutions and even taxa. Could we take advantage of all the effort already invested by the community? Could we use those georeferences to complete records that do not have them?

The answer is: (probably) yes, and it would be awesome! In this Darwin Core Hour and BBQ we will present and discuss the idea of building a global gazetteer of georeferenced localities for everyone to use.

(Of course, some of you may not have been to an "online BBQ", do read on a bit).

How does this work? We will have two parts: a classic Darwin Core Hour, and a novel Darwin Core Hour BBQ just after.

Part A. Darwin Core Hour (13:00 to 14:00 UTC): We will present our kick-off idea of a georeferencing gazetteer, its context and purpose (why are we doing this?), what would be its impact (why is this valuable?), how we think we could put it together (which are the elements that we are considering, which are the best practices involved, etc.), and where could we go or want to go next? After this presentation, there will be time for questions and discussion on these general topics.

Presenters: Rob Guralnick, Julie Allen, Paula Zermoglio
Full team also includes: John Wieczorek, David Bloom, Rafe LaFrance
Moderator: Deborah Paul

Part B. Two Darwin Core Hour BBQs:
Register Here if you plan to attend one or both BBQ sessions.

  1. Darwin Core Hour BBQ 1 (Monday 4 May 2020, 14:00 to 16:00 UTC) Zoom Link Here (for DwC Hour and BBQ1)
  2. Darwin Core Hour BBQ 2 (Thursday 7 May 2020, 20:00-22:00 UTC) Zoom Link Here (for DwC Hour BBQ2)

This will be the continuation of the Darwin Core Hour, for those that are interested in getting more involved. We want to know what people think would be needed for this service to be of use to everyone, and how we can collaborate to make it happen. The BBQ is planned as a working space. We realize that potential solutions may be very different from a software standpoint and a human - collection manager standpoint, and we know we need both. We will try to address and get some concrete answers for a series of questions framed in the following subjects:
General idea:

  • Is this a good idea?
  • What would you like the service to do? Use Cases
  • What would you need to have returned to be able to use it? (e.g., which fields, indicators of data quality, etc.)

Technical issues:

  • What are the minimum technical requirements?
  • Where and how to host it and how to maintain it?
  • What would you need from your end (collection, aggregator, other user) to be able to use it? (e.g., “API is enough”, “I NEED a pretty, colorful user interface”, “Gimme’ an R package”, etc.) *this may also be a social issue.

Social issues!

  • What are the elements we need to consider for everyone to gain trust and ownership over it?
  • Which projects/initiatives/organizations can contribute and how?
  • Could we get funding to do this and more? Who would be interested?
  • Consider the “no action” use case.

Moderators: Rob Guralnick, Julie Allen, Paula Zermoglio, Deborah Paul
Co-moderators: John Wieczorek, David Bloom, Rafe LaFrance

Relevant Links and Readings

Chapman AD and Wieczorek J. 2020. Georeferencing Best Practices. Copenhagen: GBIF Secretariat. https://doi.org/10.15468/doc-gg7h-s853

Georeferencing Mapping Resource Hub: http://georeferencing.org/

Marcer A, Haston E, Groom Q, Ariño A, Chapman AD, Bakken T, … Wieczorek JR. 2020, April 3. Quality issues in georeferencing: From physical collections to digital data repositories for ecological research (Version 1.0). Zenodo. http://doi.org/10.5281/zenodo.3734848

Seltmann K, Lafia S, Paul D, James S, Bloom D, Rios N, Ellis S, Farrell U, Utrup J, Yost M, Davis E, Emery R, Motz G, Kimmig J, Shirey V, Sandall E, Park D, Tyrrell C, Thackurdeen R, Collins M, O'Leary V, Prestridge H, Evelyn C, Nyberg B. 2018. Georeferencing for Research Use (GRU): An integrated geospatial training paradigm for biocollections researchers and data providers. Research Ideas and Outcomes 4: e32449. https://doi.org/10.3897/rio.4.e32449

Zermoglio PF, Chapman AD, Wieczorek JR, Luna MC, Bloom DA. 2020. Georeferencing Quick Reference Guide. Copenhagen: GBIF Secretariat. https://doi.org/10.35035/e09p-h128

 

► And please see / share ...

Past Darwin Core Hour Webinars
Submit your question
Contribute an answer - please share your expertise and experience!
See questions-answered-so-far on the Darwin Core Q & A site

Add to your calendar and click link below to see what local time this webinar and BBQs takes place for you spot on the planet.

Click for your local time.

Start Date: 
Monday, May 04, 2020 - 9:00am to 12:00pm EDT