2021 Paleo Digitization Happy Hour

Add this event to your calendar:

Add to My Calendar
Sun, 12/06/2020 - 6:35pm -- ekrimmel

Join colleagues every other Thursday at noon Eastern in an informal, biweekly discussion on various topics related to digitizing paleontology collections and sharing the digitized data. No advance registration required, and you are welcome to drop in for only part of the hour! Recordings and notes from past discussion sessions can be found linked to the Paleo Digitization Working Group wiki.

Remote participation link (Zoom): https://fsu.zoom.us/j/98686393084

Topics for upcoming happy hour discussions are:

  • January 14 - Paleo collections data resolutions for 2021
  • January 28 - Tools and strategies for tidying data, including demos of OpenRefine and iDigBio data quality flags
  • February 11 - Making people data discoverable with Bionomia and wikidata
  • February 25 - How the Paleobiology Database (PBDB) relates to our shared datasets
  • March 11 - Extra discussion time to debrief from February Happy Hours, and to plan group priorities for upcoming Happy Hours
  • March 25 - Getting started with wikidata
  • April 08 - Understanding the new Collections Description standard
  • April 22 - Geography revisted
  • May 06 - Further discussion on the new Collections Description standard
  • May 20 - open Zoom room to talk about SPNHC and Digital Data conferences (debrief, discuss further, etc.); note that SPNHC session "Specimen Spotlight" is happening at this same time
  • June 03 - Overview of the Paleobotany Database (PBOT) project
  • June 17 - Evaluating vocabulary for describing relationships between fossil specimens; note that SPNHC session "Using Natural History Collections as an Education Tool" is happening at this same time
  • July 01 - open Zoom room to talk about whatever people want
  • July 15 - open Zoom room to talk about whatever people want
  • July 29 - Bias in paleo collections
  • August 12 - Managing plastercasts, murals, and other non-specimen objects
  • August 26 - Managing trace fossils and trackways (incl. ichnotaxonomy, cataloging trace fossils, quantifying trace fossils, publishing associations between traces and other organisms, etc.)
  • September 09 - Sharing data about interactions in the fossil record (with GloBI)
  • September 23 - open Zoom room to talk about the ADBC Summit and Biodiversity Digitization: Celebrating a decade of progress (cancelled because of time conflict with the Biodiversity Digitization event)
  • October 07 - Digital assets and copyright vs. usage rights
  • October 21 - open Zoom room to talk about TDWG conference (cancelled because of time conflict with TDWG)
  • November 04 - Identifying connections between earlier Happy Hour topics and action items
  • November 18 - Working session to plan wikidata workshop
  • December 02 - Working session on recommendations for use of Darwin Core terms in paleo collections
  • December 16 - Holiday social time!
Start Date: 
Thursday, January 14, 2021 - 12:00pm to 1:00pm EST
Thursday, January 28, 2021 - 12:00pm to 1:00pm EST
Thursday, February 11, 2021 - 12:00pm to 1:00pm EST
Thursday, February 25, 2021 - 12:00pm to 1:00pm EST
Thursday, March 11, 2021 - 12:00pm to 1:00pm EST
Thursday, March 25, 2021 - 12:00pm to 1:00pm EDT
Thursday, April 08, 2021 - 12:00pm to 1:00pm EDT
Thursday, April 22, 2021 - 12:00pm to 1:00pm EDT
Thursday, May 06, 2021 - 12:00pm to 1:00pm EDT
Thursday, May 20, 2021 - 12:00pm to 1:00pm EDT
Thursday, June 03, 2021 - 12:00pm to 1:00pm EDT
Thursday, June 17, 2021 - 12:00pm to 1:00pm EDT
Thursday, July 01, 2021 - 12:00pm to 1:00pm EDT
Thursday, July 15, 2021 - 12:00pm to 1:00pm EDT
Thursday, July 29, 2021 - 12:00pm to 1:00pm EDT
Thursday, August 12, 2021 - 12:00pm to 1:00pm EDT
Thursday, August 26, 2021 - 12:00pm to 1:00pm EDT
Thursday, September 09, 2021 - 12:00pm to 1:00pm EDT
Thursday, September 23, 2021 - 12:00pm to 1:00pm EDT
Thursday, October 07, 2021 - 12:00pm to 1:00pm EDT
Thursday, October 21, 2021 - 12:00pm to 1:00pm EDT
Thursday, November 04, 2021 - 12:00pm to 1:00pm EDT
Thursday, November 18, 2021 - 12:00pm to 1:00pm EST
Thursday, December 02, 2021 - 12:00pm to 1:00pm EST
Thursday, December 16, 2021 - 12:00pm to 1:00pm EST
Remote Connection URL: 
https://fsu.zoom.us/j/98686393084
Recording policy: 
By attending iDigBio’s online events, you accept that the event will be recorded and posted for later asynchronous viewing.