Darwin Core Hour: Audubon Core and 3D Biodiversity Data

Add this event to your calendar:

Add to My Calendar

Title:  Audubon Core and 3D Biodiversity Data:  Metadata, Practice, and Unification of Efforts

We encourage people to bring or submit questions for discussion section of webinar.

Date:  Tuesday 21 November 2017
Time:  3pm EST, 12pm PST, 5pm ART, 9pm CET, 20:00 UTC
Where: http://idigbio.adobeconnect.com/room

Abstract: A growing mode of digitization of natural history collection objects is 3D digitization, which includes three main acquisition techniques:  surface scanning (structured light or laser scanners), volumetric scanning (microCT or MRI), and photogrammetry (structure from motion). There is now burgeoning interest in and tremendous need for describing 3D data files with standard vocabularies in the interest of promoting broad accessibility and long-term digital preservation. Audubon Core is an existing vocabulary and extension to DarwinCore that is used to describe digital media files representing natural history objects. It is not an entirely new vocabulary with many terms borrowed from Dublin Core, Darwin Core and more. It also intended to describe different kinds of digital data representing different creation methods and file formats. We overview several different 3D data collection modalities specifying the details needed for understanding how 3D data was generated and processed. We investigate the utility of Audubon Core for describing these 3D modalities. Questions we ask are which existing terms can be used for describing new 3D modalities, whether new terms are needed, whether certain 3D modalities need specific terms not applicable to other modalities, what 3D data formats should be emphasized for preservation and access, and how to pursue formally acquiring new terms either through creation of new vocabularies or extending existing ones.

Presenters
Gary Motz - Chief Information Officer and Assistant Director for Information Services, Indiana Geological and Water Survey
Doug Boyer - Assistant Professor, Department of Evolutionary Anthropology, Duke University; MorphoSource

Moderator - Holly Little, Informatics Manager, Paleobiology Collections, Smithsonian

Relevant links
https://terms.tdwg.org/wiki/Audubon_Core_Term_List
http://morphosource.org/

Darwin Core Hour Series Abstract:
Darwin Core has become a broadly-used standard for biodiversity data sharing since its inception as a standard by the organization Biodiversity Information Standards (TDWG) in 2009. Despite, or because of, its popularity, people trying to use the standard continue to have questions about how to use Darwin Core and associated extensions. This webinar series looks at open questions related to Darwin Core. Though the topic is broad, individual chapters in the series will focus on specific topics to any adequate level of depth. We encourage people to bring or submit questions and to have open discussions in each webinar.

Link to how to get the most out of Adobe Connect
https://www.idigbio.org/wiki/index.php/Web_Conferencing
Please use headsets for best experience.

 

Start Date: 
Tuesday, November 21, 2017 - 3:00pm to 4:00pm EST
AdobeConnect URL: 
http://idigbio.adobeconnect.com/room