Citizen Science course @FSU

Add this event to your calendar:

Add to My Calendar
Fri, 2014-12-12 16:16 -- ellwood

Citizen science involves the public in the generation of scientific knowledge.  With a new professional society (http://citizenscienceassociation.org/) and an emerging journal, citizen science has reached a stage of explosive growth with new opportunities for citizen scientists appearing weekly. This course, being offered during the spring semester at Florida State University (FSU), is open to graduate students and other interested individuals (including faculty) from any discipline but might be of greatest interest to those in the sciences and education.  Topics will include, but are not limited to, project typologies, best practices, relevant resources, project evaluation, user motivations, broadening participant diversity, and data quality.  Both onsite and online engagement will be discussed. Remote participation will be offered from the iDigBio offices at the University of Florida, and via AdobeConnect (http://idigbio.adobeconnect.com/citizenscience-fsu/). The instructors are Austin Mast and Libby Ellwood.

University of Florida Information:
Course: ZOO 6927
Section: 19EG
Location: 105, iDigBio conference room 310 (3rd floor). Building 105 is located north of University Avenue across from Smathers library.

To allow for the different institution's spring breaks: the March 4, 2015 class will only be held at the UF campus and the March 11, 2015 class will only be held on the FSU campus.

Citizen Science Class Wiki

Start Date: 
Wednesday, January 07, 2015 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm EST
Wednesday, January 14, 2015 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm EST
Wednesday, January 21, 2015 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm EST
Wednesday, January 28, 2015 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm EST
Wednesday, February 04, 2015 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm EST
Wednesday, February 11, 2015 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm EST
Wednesday, February 18, 2015 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm EST
Wednesday, February 25, 2015 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm EST
Wednesday, March 04, 2015 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm EST
Wednesday, March 18, 2015 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm EDT
Wednesday, March 25, 2015 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm EDT
Wednesday, April 01, 2015 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm EDT
Wednesday, April 08, 2015 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm EDT
Wednesday, April 15, 2015 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm EDT
Wednesday, April 22, 2015 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm EDT
Location: 
King Biology, FSU
City: 
Tallahassee
State: 
Florida
Remote Connection URL: 
http://idigbio.adobeconnect.com/citizenscience-fsu/