Arctos Webinar: Documenting Alaska’s flora at the crossroads of Beringia

Add this event to your calendar:

Add to My Calendar
Tue, 11/02/2021 - 3:15pm -- maphillips

 

Title: Documenting Alaska’s flora at the crossroads of Beringia

Presenters: Stefanie Ickert-Bond, Stephanie Zaborac-Reed, and Campbell Webb

Abstract: The unique position of Alaska at the crossroads of Beringia has prompted changes and accommodations of special features of our specimens in the Arctos database as well as features from our new Flora of Alaska project using taxonomic concepts. These include but are not restricted to Russian language labels that are translated but are also saved in Cyrillic, sharing of taxon concept mappings, and historical maps based on the major floristic works for Alaska – Hultén’s Flora of Alaska. We will also demonstrate using Arctos for teaching systematic botany online in an innovative way. Arctos is a powerful and flexible tool with great potential for enhancing research. We will also demonstrate Arctos’ new API (Application Programming Interface).

When: Tuesday, November 9, 2021 at 3:00pm ET/1:00pm MT (19:00 UTC)

Where: https://cuboulder.zoom.us/j/94312392735 (passcode: arctos)

Can’t Make It?: This webinar will be recorded and made available on the Arctos Youtube station: https://arctosdb.org/learn/webinars/

Start Date: 
Tuesday, November 09, 2021 - 3:00pm to 4:00pm EST
Remote Connection URL: 
https://cuboulder.zoom.us/j/94312392735
Recording policy: 
By attending iDigBio’s online events, you accept that the event will be recorded and posted for later asynchronous viewing.