× Take our 30-second survey
The U.S. National Science Foundation and iDigBio are required to collect information on use of digitized collections-based specimen data. Please help us meet this requirement every time you use this search portal. Sustainability of the national digitization effort depends on evidence of data use! Maybe later.

Specimen Record

ContinentNorth America
CountryMexico
State/ProvinceChiapas
LocalityReserva Huitepec
Latitude16.7447667
Longitude-92.6885333
Institution CodeKu
Collection CodeSemc
Catalog Number781684
Collected ByBranstetter, Michael
Date Collected2007-07-09

From Recordset

http://biodiversity.ku.edu/entomology/collections

SEMC (Snow Entomological Museum Collection) comprises nearly 5 million pinned insect specimens. Our strengths are Apoidea, Neotropical Coleoptera (especially Staphylinidae, Hydrophiloidea, and Chrysomoloidea), Mecoptera, and fossil insects. We have digitized approximately 800,000 individual specimens (mostly Apoidea and Staphylinidae, Orthoptera, and various other smaller families).

Contacts

Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Michael Engel
RoleCurator in Charge
Emailmsengel@ku.edu
Name Caroline Chaboo
RoleCurator
Emailcschaboo@ku.edu
Name Andrew Short
RoleCurator
Emailaezshort@ku.edu
Name Laura Russell
RoleVertNet Programmer
Emaillarussell@ku.edu
Name Zack Falin
RoleCollection Manager
Emailksem@ku.edu
  • Data
  • Flags
  • Raw
Taxonomy
Scientific NameLeiodidae
KingdomAnimalia
PhylumArthropoda
ClassInsecta
OrderColeoptera
FamilyLeiodidae
Specimen
Identified ByFalin, Zachary
Date Identified2009
Catalog Number781684
PreparationsPinned - 1
Institution CodeKU
Collection CodeSEMC
Occurrence ID231cec66-1ed6-11e3-bfac-90b11c41863e
Dataset NameSnow Entomological Museum Collection
Basis of RecordPreservedSpecimen
Collection Event
Collected ByBranstetter, Michael
Date Collected2007-07-09
Year2007
Month7
Day9
Locality
CountryMexico
State / ProvinceChiapas
Higher GeographyMexico, Chiapas
ContinentNeotropical
LocalityReserva Huitepec
Habitatleaf/forest litter
Decimal Latitude16.7447667
Decimal Longitude-92.6885333
Maximum Elevation in Meters2600
Minimum Elevation in Meters2600
Georeference ProtocolGPS
Geodetic DatumWGS84
specimen list