× Take our 30-second survey
The U.S. National Science Foundation and iDigBio are required to collect information on use of digitized collections-based specimen data. Please help us meet this requirement every time you use this search portal. Sustainability of the national digitization effort depends on evidence of data use! Maybe later.

Specimen Record

ContinentAfrica
CountrySouth Africa
LocalityTrawl 084; Grid 2337
Latitude-33.667
Longitude27
Institution CodeUsnm
Collection CodeFishes
Catalog Number326574
Collected ByL. Knapp & P. Heemstra
Date Collected1992-09-20

From Recordset

http://collections.nmnh.si.edu

Public records of accessioned specimens and observations curated by the National Museum of Natural History, Smithsonian Institution. These data are from the Departments of Botany, Entomology, Invertebrate Zoology and Vertebrate Zoology (Amphibians & Reptiles, Birds, Fishes, and Mammals) and include more than 270,000 primary type specimen records.

Contacts

Name Thomas Orrell
RoleNMNH Informatics
Emailorrellt@si.edu
Name Thomas Orrell
RoleNMNH Informatics
Emailorrellt@si.edu
Name Chris Tuccinardi
RoleInformation Management
Emailtuccinar@si.edu
Name Karen Reed
RoleData Manager
Emailreedk@si.edu
Name Jessica Bird
RoleCollections Information Manager
Emailbirdj@si.edu
Name Jeff Williams
RoleCollection Manager
Emailwilliamsjt@si.edu
Name Kenneth Tighe
RoleDatabase Coordinator
Emailtighek@si.edu
Name Brian Schmidt
RoleMuseum Specialist
Emailschmidtb@si.edu
Name Ingrid Rochon
RoleScientific Data Manager
Emailrochoni@si.edu
Name Thomas Orrell
RoleNMNH Informatics
Emailorrellt@si.edu
  • Data
  • Flags
  • Raw
Taxonomy
Scientific NamePoroderma pantherinum
Higher ClassficationAnimalia, Chordata, Vertebrata, Chondrichthyes, Chondrichthyes, Elasmobranchii, Euselachii, Carcharhiniformes, Scyliorhinidae
KingdomAnimalia
PhylumChordata
ClassChondrichthyes
OrderCarcharhiniformes
FamilyScyliorhinidae
GenusPoroderma
Specific Epithetpantherinum
Specimen
Catalog Number326574
Individual Count2
Institution CodeUSNM
Collection CodeFishes
Occurrence IDhttp://n2t.net/ark:/65665/3fd1aef41-1ab8-4965-abae-bca4c5bc72aa
Dataset NameNMNH Extant Biology
Basis of RecordPreservedSpecimen
Type of ResourcePhysicalObject
Collection Event
Collected ByL. Knapp & P. Heemstra
Field NumberLWK 92-32; LK 92-32
Date Collected1992-09-20
Verbatim Date Collected1992 Sep 20 - 0000 00 00; 07:10
Year1992
Month9
Day20
Start Day of Year264
End Day of Year264
Locality
CountrySouth Africa
Higher GeographyIndian, South Africa
Continentafrica
Water BodyIndian
LocalityTrawl 084; Grid 2337
Decimal Latitude-33.667
Decimal Longitude27
Verbatim Latitude3340 S
Verbatim Longitude027 E
Maximum Depth in Meters64
Minimum Depth in Meters64
Location IDA13991
Other
IDhttp://n2t.net/ark:/65665/3fd1aef41-1ab8-4965-abae-bca4c5bc72aa
dwc:datasetID7ddf754f-d193-4cc9-b351-99906754a03b
dwc:institutionIDhttp://biocol.org/urn:lsid:biocol.org:col:34871
dwc:verbatimCoordinateSystemDegrees Minutes Seconds
specimen list