× Take our 30-second survey
The U.S. National Science Foundation and iDigBio are required to collect information on use of digitized collections-based specimen data. Please help us meet this requirement every time you use this search portal. Sustainability of the national digitization effort depends on evidence of data use! Maybe later.

Specimen Record

ContinentArctic Ocean
CountryUnited States
State/ProvinceKansas
County/ParishJefferson
LocalityPerry Lake State Park, 1 Km Sw, Off Douglas Rd
Latitude39.1131833
Longitude-95.5025833
Institution CodeKu
Collection CodeSemc
Catalog Number807579
Collected ByCruz, A
Date Collected2006-06-12

From Recordset

http://biodiversity.ku.edu/entomology/collections

SEMC (Snow Entomological Museum Collection) comprises nearly 5 million pinned insect specimens. Our strengths are Apoidea, Neotropical Coleoptera (especially Staphylinidae, Hydrophiloidea, and Chrysomoloidea), Mecoptera, and fossil insects. We have digitized approximately 800,000 individual specimens (mostly Apoidea and Staphylinidae, Orthoptera, and various other smaller families).

Contacts

Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Michael Engel
RoleCurator in Charge
Emailmsengel@ku.edu
Name Caroline Chaboo
RoleCurator
Emailcschaboo@ku.edu
Name Andrew Short
RoleCurator
Emailaezshort@ku.edu
Name Laura Russell
RoleVertNet Programmer
Emaillarussell@ku.edu
Name Zack Falin
RoleCollection Manager
Emailksem@ku.edu
  • Data
  • Flags
  • Raw
Taxonomy
Scientific NameLitargus tetraspilotus
KingdomAnimalia
PhylumArthropoda
ClassInsecta
OrderColeoptera
FamilyMycetophagidae
GenusLitargus
Specific Epithettetraspilotus
Specimen
Identified ByFalin, Zachary
Date Identified2008
Catalog Number807579
PreparationsPinned - 1
Institution CodeKU
Collection CodeSEMC
Occurrence ID399aa976-1ed6-11e3-bfac-90b11c41863e
Dataset NameSnow Entomological Museum Collection
Basis of RecordPreservedSpecimen
Collection Event
Collected ByCruz, A
Date Collected2006-06-12
Year2006
Month6
Day12
Locality
CountryUnited States
State / ProvinceKansas
CountyJefferson
Higher GeographyUnited States, Kansas, Jefferson
ContinentNearctic
LocalityPerry Lake State Park, 1 km SW, off Douglas Rd
Decimal Latitude39.1131833
Decimal Longitude-95.5025833
Georeference ProtocolGPS
specimen list