× Take our 30-second survey
The U.S. National Science Foundation and iDigBio are required to collect information on use of digitized collections-based specimen data. Please help us meet this requirement every time you use this search portal. Sustainability of the national digitization effort depends on evidence of data use! Maybe later.

Specimen Record

ContinentAsia
CountrySaudi Arabia
State/ProvinceAl Bahah
LocalityThy Ein Village
Latitude19.933225
Longitude41.4448361
Institution CodeKu
Collection CodeSemc
Catalog Number1078305
Collected ByEngel, Michael
Date Collected2012-05-24

From Recordset

http://biodiversity.ku.edu/entomology/collections

SEMC (Snow Entomological Museum Collection) comprises nearly 5 million pinned insect specimens. Our strengths are Apoidea, Neotropical Coleoptera (especially Staphylinidae, Hydrophiloidea, and Chrysomoloidea), Mecoptera, and fossil insects. We have digitized approximately 800,000 individual specimens (mostly Apoidea and Staphylinidae, Orthoptera, and various other smaller families).

Contacts

Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Michael Engel
RoleCurator in Charge
Emailmsengel@ku.edu
Name Caroline Chaboo
RoleCurator
Emailcschaboo@ku.edu
Name Andrew Short
RoleCurator
Emailaezshort@ku.edu
Name Laura Russell
RoleVertNet Programmer
Emaillarussell@ku.edu
Name Zack Falin
RoleCollection Manager
Emailksem@ku.edu
  • Data
  • Flags
  • Raw
Taxonomy
Scientific NameHymenoptera
KingdomAnimalia
PhylumArthropoda
ClassInsecta
OrderHymenoptera
Specimen
Catalog Number1078305
PreparationsPinned - 1
Life Stageadult
Institution CodeKU
Collection CodeSEMC
Occurrence ID475fbbfd-1ed6-11e3-bfac-90b11c41863e
Dataset NameSnow Entomological Museum Collection
Basis of RecordPreservedSpecimen
Collection Event
Collected ByEngel, Michael
Date Collected2012-05-24
Year2012
Month5
Day24
Locality
CountrySaudi Arabia
State / ProvinceAl Bahah
Higher GeographySaudi Arabia, Al Bahah
ContinentPalearctic
LocalityThy Ein village
Decimal Latitude19.9332250
Decimal Longitude41.4448361
Maximum Elevation in Meters690
Minimum Elevation in Meters690
specimen list