× Take our 30-second survey
The U.S. National Science Foundation and iDigBio are required to collect information on use of digitized collections-based specimen data. Please help us meet this requirement every time you use this search portal. Sustainability of the national digitization effort depends on evidence of data use! Maybe later.

Specimen Record

ContinentAfrica
CountryMadagascar
State/ProvinceToamasina
LocalityImerina, Forest E Of
Institution CodeUsnm
Collection CodeMamm
Catalog NumberUsnm 83650
Collected ByJ. Wills

From Recordset

http://collections.nmnh.si.edu

Public records of accessioned specimens and observations curated by the National Museum of Natural History, Smithsonian Institution. These data are from the Departments of Botany, Entomology, Invertebrate Zoology and Vertebrate Zoology (Amphibians & Reptiles, Birds, Fishes, and Mammals) and include more than 270,000 primary type specimen records.

Contacts

Name Thomas Orrell
RoleDeputy Director, Research Informatics Program
Emailorrellt@si.edu
Name Informatics Office
RoleIPT Administrator
Emailinformaticshelp@si.edu
Name Thomas Orrell
RoleDeputy Director, Research Informatics Program
Emailorrellt@si.edu
Name Informatics Office
RoleIPT Administrator
Emailinformaticshelp@si.edu
Name Chris Tuccinardi
RoleInformation Management
Emailtuccinar@si.edu
Name Karen Reed
RoleData Manager
Emailreedk@si.edu
Name Jessica Bird
RoleCollections Information Manager
Emailbirdj@si.edu
Name Jeff Williams
RoleCollection Manager
Emailwilliamsjt@si.edu
Name Kenneth Tighe
RoleDatabase Coordinator
Emailtighek@si.edu
Name Brian Schmidt
RoleMuseum Specialist
Emailschmidtb@si.edu
Name Ingrid Rochon
RoleScientific Data Manager
Emailrochoni@si.edu
Name Thomas Orrell
RoleDeputy Director, Research Informatics Program
Emailorrellt@si.edu
Name Informatics Office
RoleIPT Administrator
Emailinformaticshelp@si.edu
  • Data
  • Flags
  • Raw
Taxonomy
Scientific NameAvahi laniger
Higher ClassficationAnimalia, Chordata, Vertebrata, Mammalia, Eutheria, Primates, Strepsirrhini, Indriidae
KingdomAnimalia
PhylumChordata
ClassMammalia
OrderPrimates
FamilyIndriidae
GenusAvahi
Specific Epithetlaniger
Specimen
Catalog NumberUSNM 83650
PreparationsSkin; Skull; Skeleton
Individual Count1
SexUnknown
Institution CodeUSNM
Collection CodeMAMM
Occurrence IDhttp://n2t.net/ark:/65665/3acd5e1ee-7bbe-4c95-abd0-0b6533c1eb0b
Dataset NameNMNH Extant Biology
Basis of RecordPreservedSpecimen
Type of ResourcePhysicalObject
Associated Media14767810
Collection Event
Collected ByJ. Wills
Collector NumberNo Number
Verbatim Date Collected-- Feb 1896
Year1896
Month2
Day0
Start Day of Year60
End Day of Year60
Locality
CountryMadagascar
State / ProvinceToamasina
Higher GeographyIndian Ocean, Madagascar, Toamasina
ContinentIndian Ocean
Water BodyIndian Ocean
LocalityImerina, Forest E Of
Other
Modified2020-05-14 17:17:00
IDhttp://n2t.net/ark:/65665/3acd5e1ee-7bbe-4c95-abd0-0b6533c1eb0b
dwc:datasetID7ddf754f-d193-4cc9-b351-99906754a03b
dwc:collectionIDurn:uuid:59e56a59-8615-4e0c-841d-eb88f3876b22
dwc:occurrenceStatusPRESENT
dwc:institutionIDurn:lsid:biocol.org:col:34871
specimen list