× Take our 30-second survey
The U.S. National Science Foundation and iDigBio are required to collect information on use of digitized collections-based specimen data. Please help us meet this requirement every time you use this search portal. Sustainability of the national digitization effort depends on evidence of data use! Maybe later.

Specimen Record

ContinentArctic Ocean
CountryUnited States
State/ProvinceOregon
County/ParishGrant
LocalityStrawberry Lake
Institution CodeKu
Collection CodeSemc
Catalog Number1195015
Collected ByRieder, R
Date Collected1936-07-17

From Recordset

http://biodiversity.ku.edu/entomology/collections

SEMC (Snow Entomological Museum Collection) comprises nearly 5 million pinned insect specimens. Our strengths are Apoidea, Neotropical Coleoptera (especially Staphylinidae, Hydrophiloidea, and Chrysomoloidea), Mecoptera, and fossil insects. We have digitized approximately 800,000 individual specimens (mostly Apoidea and Staphylinidae, Orthoptera, and various other smaller families).

Contacts

Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Michael Engel
RoleCurator in Charge
Emailmsengel@ku.edu
Name Caroline Chaboo
RoleCurator
Emailcschaboo@ku.edu
Name Andrew Short
RoleCurator
Emailaezshort@ku.edu
Name Laura Russell
RoleVertNet Programmer
Emaillarussell@ku.edu
Name Zack Falin
RoleCollection Manager
Emailksem@ku.edu
  • Data
  • Flags
  • Raw
Taxonomy
Scientific NameCenocorixa wileyae
KingdomAnimalia
PhylumArthropoda
ClassInsecta
OrderHemiptera
FamilyCorixidae
GenusCenocorixa
Specific Epithetwileyae
Specimen
Catalog Number1195015
PreparationsPinned - 1
Life Stageadult
SexM
Institution CodeKU
Collection CodeSEMC
Occurrence ID754964c4-803e-41c2-a37a-dc88ed39a610
Dataset NameSnow Entomological Museum Collection
Basis of RecordPreservedSpecimen
Associated Mediahttp://biimages.biodiversity.ku.edu/static/Entomology/originals/sp68948067947863625782.att.JPG
Collection Event
Collected ByRieder, R
Date Collected1936-07-17
Year1936
Month7
Day17
Locality
CountryUnited States
State / ProvinceOregon
CountyGrant
Higher GeographyUnited States, Oregon, Grant
ContinentNearctic
LocalityStrawberry Lake
Maximum Elevation in Meters6400
Minimum Elevation in Meters6400
specimen list