× Take our 30-second survey
The U.S. National Science Foundation and iDigBio are required to collect information on use of digitized collections-based specimen data. Please help us meet this requirement every time you use this search portal. Sustainability of the national digitization effort depends on evidence of data use! Maybe later.

Specimen Record

ContinentArctic Ocean
CountryUnited States
State/ProvinceKansas
County/ParishMontgomery
LocalityElk City State Park, Timber Road Campground
Latitude37.25802
Longitude-95.77796
Institution CodeKu
Collection CodeSemc
Catalog Number900800
Collected ByFalin, Zachary
Date Collected2010-05-22

From Recordset

http://biodiversity.ku.edu/entomology/collections

SEMC (Snow Entomological Museum Collection) comprises nearly 5 million pinned insect specimens. Our strengths are Apoidea, Neotropical Coleoptera (especially Staphylinidae, Hydrophiloidea, and Chrysomoloidea), Mecoptera, and fossil insects. We have digitized approximately 800,000 individual specimens (mostly Apoidea and Staphylinidae, Orthoptera, and various other smaller families).

Contacts

Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Michael Engel
RoleCurator in Charge
Emailmsengel@ku.edu
Name Caroline Chaboo
RoleCurator
Emailcschaboo@ku.edu
Name Andrew Short
RoleCurator
Emailaezshort@ku.edu
Name Laura Russell
RoleVertNet Programmer
Emaillarussell@ku.edu
Name Zack Falin
RoleCollection Manager
Emailksem@ku.edu
  • Data
  • Flags
  • Raw
Taxonomy
Scientific NameAtomaria
KingdomAnimalia
PhylumArthropoda
ClassInsecta
OrderColeoptera
FamilyCryptophagidae
GenusAtomaria
Specimen
Identified ByFalin, Zachary
Date Identified2010
Catalog Number900800
PreparationsPinned - 1
Institution CodeKU
Collection CodeSEMC
Occurrence ID396c9e62-1ed6-11e3-bfac-90b11c41863e
Dataset NameSnow Entomological Museum Collection
Basis of RecordPreservedSpecimen
Collection Event
Collected ByFalin, Zachary
Date Collected2010-05-22
Year2010
Month5
Day22
Locality
CountryUnited States
State / ProvinceKansas
CountyMontgomery
Higher GeographyUnited States, Kansas, Montgomery
ContinentNearctic
LocalityElk City State Park, Timber Road Campground
Habitatfungus covered log
Decimal Latitude37.25802
Decimal Longitude-95.77796
Georeference ProtocolGPS
Geodetic DatumWGS84
specimen list