× Take our 30-second survey
The U.S. National Science Foundation and iDigBio are required to collect information on use of digitized collections-based specimen data. Please help us meet this requirement every time you use this search portal. Sustainability of the national digitization effort depends on evidence of data use! Maybe later.

Specimen Record

ContinentSouth America
CountryEcuador
State/ProvincePastaza
LocalityCanelos
Latitude-1.58333
Longitude-77.75
Institution CodeUsnm
Collection CodeAmphibians & Reptiles
Catalog Number204078

From Recordset

http://collections.nmnh.si.edu

Public records of accessioned specimens and observations curated by the National Museum of Natural History, Smithsonian Institution. These data are from the Departments of Botany, Entomology, Invertebrate Zoology and Vertebrate Zoology (Amphibians & Reptiles, Birds, Fishes, and Mammals) and include more than 270,000 primary type specimen records.

Contacts

Name Thomas Orrell
RoleDeputy Director, Research Informatics Program
Emailorrellt@si.edu
Name Informatics Office
RoleIPT Administrator
Emailinformaticshelp@si.edu
Name Thomas Orrell
RoleDeputy Director, Research Informatics Program
Emailorrellt@si.edu
Name Informatics Office
RoleIPT Administrator
Emailinformaticshelp@si.edu
Name Chris Tuccinardi
RoleInformation Management
Emailtuccinar@si.edu
Name Karen Reed
RoleData Manager
Emailreedk@si.edu
Name Jessica Bird
RoleCollections Information Manager
Emailbirdj@si.edu
Name Jeff Williams
RoleCollection Manager
Emailwilliamsjt@si.edu
Name Kenneth Tighe
RoleDatabase Coordinator
Emailtighek@si.edu
Name Brian Schmidt
RoleMuseum Specialist
Emailschmidtb@si.edu
Name Ingrid Rochon
RoleScientific Data Manager
Emailrochoni@si.edu
Name Thomas Orrell
RoleDeputy Director, Research Informatics Program
Emailorrellt@si.edu
Name Informatics Office
RoleIPT Administrator
Emailinformaticshelp@si.edu
  • Data
  • Flags
  • Raw
Taxonomy
Scientific NameAnilius scytale
Higher ClassficationAnimalia, Chordata, Vertebrata, Reptilia, Squamata, Ophidia, Aniliidae
KingdomAnimalia
PhylumChordata
ClassReptilia
OrderSquamata
FamilyAniliidae
GenusAnilius
Specific Epithetscytale
Specimen
Catalog Number204078
PreparationsEthanol
Individual Count1
Institution CodeUSNM
Collection CodeAmphibians & Reptiles
Occurrence IDhttp://n2t.net/ark:/65665/3e92cf484-2e58-4131-bfec-a295aace8446
Dataset NameNMNH Extant Biology
Basis of RecordPreservedSpecimen
Type of ResourcePhysicalObject
Collection Event
Verbatim Date Collected-- Sep 1956
Year1956
Month9
Start Day of Year274
End Day of Year274
Locality
CountryEcuador
State / ProvincePastaza
Higher GeographySouth America, Ecuador, Pastaza
ContinentSouth America
LocalityCanelos
Decimal Latitude-1.58333
Decimal Longitude-77.75
Georeference ProtocolAlexandria Digital Library, MaNIS/HerpNET/ORNIS Georeferencing Guidelines
Coordinate Uncertainty In Meters4615
Geodetic DatumWGS84
Georeference RemarksLocality extent = 2
specimen list