× Take our 30-second survey
The U.S. National Science Foundation and iDigBio are required to collect information on use of digitized collections-based specimen data. Please help us meet this requirement every time you use this search portal. Sustainability of the national digitization effort depends on evidence of data use! Maybe later.

Specimen Record

ContinentSouth America
CountryBrazil
State/ProvinceAmazonas
County/ParishItacoatiara
LocalityRio Amazonas Nrte
Institution CodeKu
Collection CodeSemc
Catalog Number1091483
Collected ByOlalla, A
Date Collected1935-12-31

From Recordset

http://biodiversity.ku.edu/entomology/collections

SEMC (Snow Entomological Museum Collection) comprises nearly 5 million pinned insect specimens. Our strengths are Apoidea, Neotropical Coleoptera (especially Staphylinidae, Hydrophiloidea, and Chrysomoloidea), Mecoptera, and fossil insects. We have digitized approximately 800,000 individual specimens (mostly Apoidea and Staphylinidae, Orthoptera, and various other smaller families).

Contacts

Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Michael Engel
RoleCurator in Charge
Emailmsengel@ku.edu
Name Caroline Chaboo
RoleCurator
Emailcschaboo@ku.edu
Name Andrew Short
RoleCurator
Emailaezshort@ku.edu
Name Laura Russell
RoleVertNet Programmer
Emaillarussell@ku.edu
Name Zack Falin
RoleCollection Manager
Emailksem@ku.edu
  • Data
  • Flags
  • Raw
Taxonomy
Scientific NameBelostoma discretum
KingdomAnimalia
PhylumArthropoda
ClassInsecta
OrderHemiptera
FamilyBelostomatidae
GenusBelostoma
Specific Epithetdiscretum
Specimen
Catalog Number1091483
PreparationsPinned - 1
Life Stageadult
SexM
Institution CodeKU
Collection CodeSEMC
Occurrence ID4a49b318-1ed6-11e3-bfac-90b11c41863e
Dataset NameSnow Entomological Museum Collection
Basis of RecordPreservedSpecimen
Associated Mediahttp://biimages.biodiversity.ku.edu/static/Entomology/originals/sp62381052703558965270.att.JPG; http://biimages.biodiversity.ku.edu/static/Entomology/originals/sp68384891448951477402.att.JPG
Collection Event
Collected ByOlalla, A
Date Collected1935-12-31
Year1936
Month1
Locality
CountryBrazil
State / ProvinceAmazonas
CountyItacoatiara
Higher GeographyBrazil, Amazonas, Itacoatiara
ContinentNeotropical
LocalityRio Amazonas Nrte
specimen list