× Take our 30-second survey
The U.S. National Science Foundation and iDigBio are required to collect information on use of digitized collections-based specimen data. Please help us meet this requirement every time you use this search portal. Sustainability of the national digitization effort depends on evidence of data use! Maybe later.

Specimen Record

ContinentSouth America
CountryGuyana
State/ProvinceRegion 9
LocalityZiida Wao (creek), Nr. Kusad Mts.
Latitude2.8287333
Longitude-59.8091
Institution CodeKu
Collection CodeSemc
Catalog Number1272103
Collected ByShort, Isaacs, Salisbury
Date Collected2013-10-25

From Recordset

http://biodiversity.ku.edu/entomology/collections

SEMC (Snow Entomological Museum Collection) comprises nearly 5 million pinned insect specimens. Our strengths are Apoidea, Neotropical Coleoptera (especially Staphylinidae, Hydrophiloidea, and Chrysomoloidea), Mecoptera, and fossil insects. We have digitized approximately 800,000 individual specimens (mostly Apoidea and Staphylinidae, Orthoptera, and various other smaller families).

Contacts

Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Michael Engel
RoleCurator in Charge
Emailmsengel@ku.edu
Name Caroline Chaboo
RoleCurator
Emailcschaboo@ku.edu
Name Andrew Short
RoleCurator
Emailaezshort@ku.edu
Name Laura Russell
RoleVertNet Programmer
Emaillarussell@ku.edu
Name Zack Falin
RoleCollection Manager
Emailksem@ku.edu
  • Data
  • Flags
  • Raw
Taxonomy
Scientific NameSuphisellus pereirai
KingdomAnimalia
PhylumArthropoda
ClassInsecta
OrderColeoptera
FamilyNoteridae
GenusSuphisellus
Specific Epithetpereirai
Specimen
Identified ByBaca, Stephen
Date Identified2014
Catalog Number1272103
PreparationsPinned - 1
Life Stageadult
Sexunknown
Institution CodeKU
Collection CodeSEMC
Occurrence ID8d072e4a-135d-4e04-9a3a-d567520dea51
Dataset NameSnow Entomological Museum Collection
Basis of RecordPreservedSpecimen
Collection Event
Collected ByShort, Isaacs, Salisbury
Date Collected2013-10-25
Year2013
Month10
Day25
Locality
CountryGuyana
State / ProvinceRegion 9
Higher GeographyGuyana, Region 9
ContinentNeotropical
LocalityZiida Wao (Creek), nr. Kusad Mts.
Decimal Latitude2.8287333
Decimal Longitude-59.8091000
Maximum Elevation in Meters121
Minimum Elevation in Meters121
specimen list