× Take our 30-second survey
The U.S. National Science Foundation and iDigBio are required to collect information on use of digitized collections-based specimen data. Please help us meet this requirement every time you use this search portal. Sustainability of the national digitization effort depends on evidence of data use! Maybe later.

Specimen Record

ContinentNorth America
CountryCanada
State/ProvinceAlberta
LocalityLethbridge, Picture Butte
Latitude49.8833
Longitude-112.7833
Institution CodeKu
Collection CodeSemc
Catalog Number379948
Collected ByMichener, Charles
Date Collected1988-06-20

From Recordset

http://biodiversity.ku.edu/entomology/collections

SEMC (Snow Entomological Museum Collection) comprises nearly 5 million pinned insect specimens. Our strengths are Apoidea, Neotropical Coleoptera (especially Staphylinidae, Hydrophiloidea, and Chrysomoloidea), Mecoptera, and fossil insects. We have digitized approximately 800,000 individual specimens (mostly Apoidea and Staphylinidae, Orthoptera, and various other smaller families).

Contacts

Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Michael Engel
RoleCurator in Charge
Emailmsengel@ku.edu
Name Caroline Chaboo
RoleCurator
Emailcschaboo@ku.edu
Name Andrew Short
RoleCurator
Emailaezshort@ku.edu
Name Laura Russell
RoleVertNet Programmer
Emaillarussell@ku.edu
Name Zack Falin
RoleCollection Manager
Emailksem@ku.edu
  • Data
  • Flags
  • Raw
Taxonomy
Scientific NameColletes
KingdomAnimalia
PhylumArthropoda
ClassInsecta
OrderHymenoptera
FamilyColletidae
GenusColletes
Specimen
Catalog Number379948
PreparationsPinned - 1
Life Stageadult
SexM
Institution CodeKU
Collection CodeSEMC
Occurrence ID3c402b6b-1ed6-11e3-bfac-90b11c41863e
Dataset NameSnow Entomological Museum Collection
Basis of RecordPreservedSpecimen
Associated TaxaMelilotus alba
Collection Event
Collected ByMichener, Charles
Date Collected1988-06-20
Year1988
Month6
Day20
Locality
CountryCanada
State / ProvinceAlberta
Higher GeographyCanada, Alberta
ContinentNearctic
LocalityLethbridge, Picture Butte
Decimal Latitude49.8833
Decimal Longitude-112.7833
Maximum Elevation in Meters780
Minimum Elevation in Meters780
specimen list