× Take our 30-second survey
The U.S. National Science Foundation and iDigBio are required to collect information on use of digitized collections-based specimen data. Please help us meet this requirement every time you use this search portal. Sustainability of the national digitization effort depends on evidence of data use! Maybe later.

Specimen Record

ContinentNorth America
CountryMexico
State/ProvinceChiapas
LocalityMpio, Tenejapa, Cerro Tzontehuitz
Latitude16.813
Longitude-92.5736667
Institution CodeKu
Collection CodeSemc
Catalog Number711580
Collected ByAnderson, Robert
Date Collected2005-07-29

From Recordset

http://biodiversity.ku.edu/entomology/collections

SEMC (Snow Entomological Museum Collection) comprises nearly 5 million pinned insect specimens. Our strengths are Apoidea, Neotropical Coleoptera (especially Staphylinidae, Hydrophiloidea, and Chrysomoloidea), Mecoptera, and fossil insects. We have digitized approximately 800,000 individual specimens (mostly Apoidea and Staphylinidae, Orthoptera, and various other smaller families).

Contacts

Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Michael Engel
RoleCurator in Charge
Emailmsengel@ku.edu
Name Caroline Chaboo
RoleCurator
Emailcschaboo@ku.edu
Name Andrew Short
RoleCurator
Emailaezshort@ku.edu
Name Laura Russell
RoleVertNet Programmer
Emaillarussell@ku.edu
Name Zack Falin
RoleCollection Manager
Emailksem@ku.edu
  • Data
  • Flags
  • Raw
Taxonomy
Scientific NameScydmaenidae
KingdomAnimalia
PhylumArthropoda
ClassInsecta
OrderColeoptera
FamilyScydmaenidae
Specimen
Identified ByJeng, Ming
Date Identified2005
Catalog Number711580
PreparationsPinned - 1
Life Stageadult
Institution CodeKU
Collection CodeSEMC
Occurrence ID3c824cc1-1ed6-11e3-bfac-90b11c41863e
Dataset NameSnow Entomological Museum Collection
Basis of RecordPreservedSpecimen
Collection Event
Collected ByAnderson, Robert
Date Collected2005-07-29
Year2005
Month7
Day29
Locality
CountryMexico
State / ProvinceChiapas
Higher GeographyMexico, Chiapas
ContinentNeotropical
LocalityMpio, Tenejapa, Cerro Tzontehuitz
Habitatleaf/forest litter
Decimal Latitude16.8130000
Decimal Longitude-92.5736667
Maximum Elevation in Meters2677
Minimum Elevation in Meters2677
Georeference ProtocolGPS
specimen list