× Take our 30-second survey
The U.S. National Science Foundation and iDigBio are required to collect information on use of digitized collections-based specimen data. Please help us meet this requirement every time you use this search portal. Sustainability of the national digitization effort depends on evidence of data use! Maybe later.

Specimen Record

ContinentAustralia
CountryAustralia
State/ProvinceQueensland
LocalityBunya Mountains National Park, Westcott Campground
Latitude-26.8641667
Longitude151.5713889
Institution CodeKu
Collection CodeSemc
Catalog Number193339
Collected ByAnderson, Robert
Date Collected2000-01-18

From Recordset

http://biodiversity.ku.edu/entomology/collections

SEMC (Snow Entomological Museum Collection) comprises nearly 5 million pinned insect specimens. Our strengths are Apoidea, Neotropical Coleoptera (especially Staphylinidae, Hydrophiloidea, and Chrysomoloidea), Mecoptera, and fossil insects. We have digitized approximately 800,000 individual specimens (mostly Apoidea and Staphylinidae, Orthoptera, and various other smaller families).

Contacts

Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Michael Engel
RoleCurator in Charge
Emailmsengel@ku.edu
Name Caroline Chaboo
RoleCurator
Emailcschaboo@ku.edu
Name Andrew Short
RoleCurator
Emailaezshort@ku.edu
Name Laura Russell
RoleVertNet Programmer
Emaillarussell@ku.edu
Name Zack Falin
RoleCollection Manager
Emailksem@ku.edu
  • Data
  • Flags
  • Raw
Taxonomy
Scientific NameLeiodidae
KingdomAnimalia
PhylumArthropoda
ClassInsecta
OrderColeoptera
FamilyLeiodidae
Specimen
Identified ByFalin, Zachary
Date Identified2002
Catalog Number193339
PreparationsPinned - 1
Life Stageadult
Institution CodeKU
Collection CodeSEMC
Occurrence ID314496c2-1ed6-11e3-bfac-90b11c41863e
Dataset NameSnow Entomological Museum Collection
Basis of RecordPreservedSpecimen
Collection Event
Collected ByAnderson, Robert
Date Collected2000-01-18
Year2000
Month1
Day18
Locality
CountryAustralia
State / ProvinceQueensland
Higher GeographyAustralia, Queensland
ContinentAustralian
LocalityBunya Mountains National Park, Westcott Campground
Decimal Latitude-26.8641667
Decimal Longitude151.5713889
Maximum Elevation in Meters1100
Minimum Elevation in Meters1100
Georeference ProtocolGPS
specimen list