× Take our 30-second survey
The U.S. National Science Foundation and iDigBio are required to collect information on use of digitized collections-based specimen data. Please help us meet this requirement every time you use this search portal. Sustainability of the national digitization effort depends on evidence of data use! Maybe later.

Specimen Record

ContinentSouth America
CountryGuyana
State/ProvinceRegion 8
LocalityIwokrama Forest, Kabocalli Field Stn.
Latitude4.2844444
Longitude-58.5097222
Institution CodeKu
Collection CodeSemc
Catalog Number573018
Collected ByBrooks, R & Falin, Z
Date Collected2001-06-03

From Recordset

http://biodiversity.ku.edu/entomology/collections

SEMC (Snow Entomological Museum Collection) comprises nearly 5 million pinned insect specimens. Our strengths are Apoidea, Neotropical Coleoptera (especially Staphylinidae, Hydrophiloidea, and Chrysomoloidea), Mecoptera, and fossil insects. We have digitized approximately 800,000 individual specimens (mostly Apoidea and Staphylinidae, Orthoptera, and various other smaller families).

Contacts

Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Michael Engel
RoleCurator in Charge
Emailmsengel@ku.edu
Name Caroline Chaboo
RoleCurator
Emailcschaboo@ku.edu
Name Andrew Short
RoleCurator
Emailaezshort@ku.edu
Name Laura Russell
RoleVertNet Programmer
Emaillarussell@ku.edu
Name Zack Falin
RoleCollection Manager
Emailksem@ku.edu
  • Data
  • Flags
  • Raw
Taxonomy
Scientific NameMycotretus
KingdomAnimalia
PhylumArthropoda
ClassInsecta
OrderColeoptera
FamilyErotylidae
GenusMycotretus
Specimen
Identified BySkelley, Paul
Catalog Number573018
PreparationsPinned - 1
Life Stageadult
Institution CodeKU
Collection CodeSEMC
Occurrence ID35bc1a77-1ed6-11e3-bfac-90b11c41863e
Dataset NameSnow Entomological Museum Collection
Basis of RecordPreservedSpecimen
Collection Event
Collected ByBrooks, R & Falin, Z
Date Collected2001-06-03
Year2001
Month6
Day3
Locality
CountryGuyana
State / ProvinceRegion 8
Higher GeographyGuyana, Region 8
ContinentNeotropical
LocalityIwokrama Forest, Kabocalli Field Stn.
Decimal Latitude4.2844444
Decimal Longitude-58.5097222
Maximum Elevation in Meters60
Minimum Elevation in Meters60
Georeference ProtocolGPS
specimen list