× Take our 30-second survey
The U.S. National Science Foundation and iDigBio are required to collect information on use of digitized collections-based specimen data. Please help us meet this requirement every time you use this search portal. Sustainability of the national digitization effort depends on evidence of data use! Maybe later.

Specimen Record

ContinentOceania
CountryNew Zealand
State/ProvinceSouth Islands
County/Parish(fiordland-fd)
LocalityHollyford Tk.
Latitude-44.7
Longitude168.1333333
Institution CodeKu
Collection CodeSemc
Catalog Number647195
Collected ByLeschen, R & Carlton, C
Date Collected1998-01-22

From Recordset

http://biodiversity.ku.edu/entomology/collections

SEMC (Snow Entomological Museum Collection) comprises nearly 5 million pinned insect specimens. Our strengths are Apoidea, Neotropical Coleoptera (especially Staphylinidae, Hydrophiloidea, and Chrysomoloidea), Mecoptera, and fossil insects. We have digitized approximately 800,000 individual specimens (mostly Apoidea and Staphylinidae, Orthoptera, and various other smaller families).

Contacts

Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Michael Engel
RoleCurator in Charge
Emailmsengel@ku.edu
Name Caroline Chaboo
RoleCurator
Emailcschaboo@ku.edu
Name Andrew Short
RoleCurator
Emailaezshort@ku.edu
Name Laura Russell
RoleVertNet Programmer
Emaillarussell@ku.edu
Name Zack Falin
RoleCollection Manager
Emailksem@ku.edu
  • Data
  • Flags
  • Raw
Taxonomy
Scientific NameChorasus
KingdomAnimalia
PhylumArthropoda
ClassInsecta
OrderColeoptera
FamilyColydiidae
GenusChorasus
Specimen
Identified ByLord, Nathan
Date Identified2012
Catalog Number647195
PreparationsPinned - 1
Life Stageadult
Institution CodeKU
Collection CodeSEMC
Occurrence ID1a2ff7c8-1ed6-11e3-bfac-90b11c41863e
Dataset NameSnow Entomological Museum Collection
Basis of RecordPreservedSpecimen
Collection Event
Collected ByLeschen, R & Carlton, C
Date Collected1998-01-22
Year1998
Month1
Day22
Locality
CountryNew Zealand
State / ProvinceSouth Islands
County(Fiordland-FD)
Higher GeographyNew Zealand, South Islands, (Fiordland-FD)
ContinentAustralian
LocalityHollyford Tk.
Decimal Latitude-44.7000000
Decimal Longitude168.1333333
Georeference ProtocolGPS
specimen list