× Take our 30-second survey
The U.S. National Science Foundation and iDigBio are required to collect information on use of digitized collections-based specimen data. Please help us meet this requirement every time you use this search portal. Sustainability of the national digitization effort depends on evidence of data use! Maybe later.

Specimen Record

ContinentSouth America
CountryVenezuela
State/ProvinceCojedes
Locality5 Km S El Baul, Large Marsh
Latitude8.9001333
Longitude-68.3217333
Institution CodeKu
Collection CodeSemc
Catalog Number1028003
Collected ByShort, Arias, Gustafson
Date Collected2012-01-21

From Recordset

http://biodiversity.ku.edu/entomology/collections

SEMC (Snow Entomological Museum Collection) comprises nearly 5 million pinned insect specimens. Our strengths are Apoidea, Neotropical Coleoptera (especially Staphylinidae, Hydrophiloidea, and Chrysomoloidea), Mecoptera, and fossil insects. We have digitized approximately 800,000 individual specimens (mostly Apoidea and Staphylinidae, Orthoptera, and various other smaller families).

Contacts

Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Michael Engel
RoleCurator in Charge
Emailmsengel@ku.edu
Name Caroline Chaboo
RoleCurator
Emailcschaboo@ku.edu
Name Andrew Short
RoleCurator
Emailaezshort@ku.edu
Name Laura Russell
RoleVertNet Programmer
Emaillarussell@ku.edu
Name Zack Falin
RoleCollection Manager
Emailksem@ku.edu
  • Data
  • Flags
  • Raw
Taxonomy
Scientific NameBelostoma
KingdomAnimalia
PhylumArthropoda
ClassInsecta
OrderHemiptera
FamilyBelostomatidae
GenusBelostoma
Specimen
Identified ByShort, Andrew
Date Identified2012
Catalog Number1028003
PreparationsPinned - 1
Life Stageadult
Institution CodeKU
Collection CodeSEMC
Occurrence ID44f01d70-1ed6-11e3-bfac-90b11c41863e
Dataset NameSnow Entomological Museum Collection
Basis of RecordPreservedSpecimen
Collection Event
Collected ByShort, Arias, Gustafson
Date Collected2012-01-21
Year2012
Month1
Day21
Locality
CountryVenezuela
State / ProvinceCojedes
Higher GeographyVenezuela, Cojedes
ContinentNeotropical
Locality5 km S El Baul, large marsh
Decimal Latitude8.9001333
Decimal Longitude-68.3217333
Maximum Elevation in Meters70
Minimum Elevation in Meters70
Georeference ProtocolGPS
Geodetic DatumWGS84
specimen list