× Take our 30-second survey
The U.S. National Science Foundation and iDigBio are required to collect information on use of digitized collections-based specimen data. Please help us meet this requirement every time you use this search portal. Sustainability of the national digitization effort depends on evidence of data use! Maybe later.

Specimen Record

ContinentSouth America
CountryColombia
State/ProvinceBoyaca
LocalitySff Iguaque, Lagunillas
Latitude9.4166667
Longitude-73.45
Institution CodeKu
Collection CodeSemc
Catalog Number549533
Collected ByReina, P
Date Collected2001-05-02

From Recordset

http://biodiversity.ku.edu/entomology/collections

SEMC (Snow Entomological Museum Collection) comprises nearly 5 million pinned insect specimens. Our strengths are Apoidea, Neotropical Coleoptera (especially Staphylinidae, Hydrophiloidea, and Chrysomoloidea), Mecoptera, and fossil insects. We have digitized approximately 800,000 individual specimens (mostly Apoidea and Staphylinidae, Orthoptera, and various other smaller families).

Contacts

Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Michael Engel
RoleCurator in Charge
Emailmsengel@ku.edu
Name Caroline Chaboo
RoleCurator
Emailcschaboo@ku.edu
Name Andrew Short
RoleCurator
Emailaezshort@ku.edu
Name Laura Russell
RoleVertNet Programmer
Emaillarussell@ku.edu
Name Zack Falin
RoleCollection Manager
Emailksem@ku.edu
  • Data
  • Flags
  • Raw
Taxonomy
Scientific NameHeterothops
KingdomAnimalia
PhylumArthropoda
ClassInsecta
OrderColeoptera
FamilyStaphylinidae
GenusHeterothops
Specimen
Identified ByAshe, James
Date Identified2003
Catalog Number549533
PreparationsPinned - 1
Life Stageadult
Institution CodeKU
Collection CodeSEMC
Occurrence ID2391453b-1ed6-11e3-bfac-90b11c41863e
Dataset NameSnow Entomological Museum Collection
Basis of RecordPreservedSpecimen
Collection Event
Collected ByReina, P
Date Collected2001-05-02
Year2001
Month5
Day2
Locality
CountryColombia
State / ProvinceBoyaca
Higher GeographyColombia, Boyaca
ContinentNeotropical
LocalitySFF Iguaque, Lagunillas
Decimal Latitude9.4166667
Decimal Longitude-73.4500000
Maximum Elevation in Meters3380
Minimum Elevation in Meters3380
specimen list