× Take our 30-second survey
The U.S. National Science Foundation and iDigBio are required to collect information on use of digitized collections-based specimen data. Please help us meet this requirement every time you use this search portal. Sustainability of the national digitization effort depends on evidence of data use! Maybe later.

Specimen Record

ContinentArctic Ocean
CountryUnited States
State/ProvinceNew Mexico
County/ParishEddy
LocalityCarlsbad
Latitude32.42056
Longitude-104.2283
Institution CodeKu
Collection CodeSemc
Catalog Number294024
Collected ByMichener, Brothers, Krueger
Date Collected1969-05-20

From Recordset

http://biodiversity.ku.edu/entomology/collections

SEMC (Snow Entomological Museum Collection) comprises nearly 5 million pinned insect specimens. Our strengths are Apoidea, Neotropical Coleoptera (especially Staphylinidae, Hydrophiloidea, and Chrysomoloidea), Mecoptera, and fossil insects. We have digitized approximately 800,000 individual specimens (mostly Apoidea and Staphylinidae, Orthoptera, and various other smaller families).

Contacts

Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Michael Engel
RoleCurator in Charge
Emailmsengel@ku.edu
Name Caroline Chaboo
RoleCurator
Emailcschaboo@ku.edu
Name Andrew Short
RoleCurator
Emailaezshort@ku.edu
Name Laura Russell
RoleVertNet Programmer
Emaillarussell@ku.edu
Name Zack Falin
RoleCollection Manager
Emailksem@ku.edu
  • Data
  • Flags
  • Raw
Taxonomy
Scientific NameColletes
KingdomAnimalia
PhylumArthropoda
ClassInsecta
OrderHymenoptera
FamilyColletidae
GenusColletes
Specimen
Catalog Number294024
PreparationsPinned - 1
Life Stageadult
SexM
Institution CodeKU
Collection CodeSEMC
Occurrence ID3a2416b9-1ed6-11e3-bfac-90b11c41863e
Dataset NameSnow Entomological Museum Collection
Basis of RecordPreservedSpecimen
Associated Mediahttp://biimages.biodiversity.ku.edu/static/Entomology/originals/sp63357321984494823946.att.JPG
Associated TaxaTamarix gallica
Collection Event
Collected ByMichener, Brothers, Krueger
Date Collected1969-05-20
Year1969
Month5
Day20
Locality
CountryUnited States
State / ProvinceNew Mexico
CountyEddy
Higher GeographyUnited States, New Mexico, Eddy
ContinentNearctic
LocalityCarlsbad
Decimal Latitude32.42056
Decimal Longitude-104.2283
specimen list