× Take our 30-second survey
The U.S. National Science Foundation and iDigBio are required to collect information on use of digitized collections-based specimen data. Please help us meet this requirement every time you use this search portal. Sustainability of the national digitization effort depends on evidence of data use! Maybe later.

Specimen Record

ContinentSouth America
CountryVenezuela
State/ProvinceBarinas
LocalityNr Quiri, Rio Quiu
Latitude8.0556833
Longitude-70.9432833
Institution CodeKu
Collection CodeSemc
Catalog Number911170
Collected ByShepard, William
Date Collected2009-07-15

From Recordset

http://biodiversity.ku.edu/entomology/collections

SEMC (Snow Entomological Museum Collection) comprises nearly 5 million pinned insect specimens. Our strengths are Apoidea, Neotropical Coleoptera (especially Staphylinidae, Hydrophiloidea, and Chrysomoloidea), Mecoptera, and fossil insects. We have digitized approximately 800,000 individual specimens (mostly Apoidea and Staphylinidae, Orthoptera, and various other smaller families).

Contacts

Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Michael Engel
RoleCurator in Charge
Emailmsengel@ku.edu
Name Caroline Chaboo
RoleCurator
Emailcschaboo@ku.edu
Name Andrew Short
RoleCurator
Emailaezshort@ku.edu
Name Laura Russell
RoleVertNet Programmer
Emaillarussell@ku.edu
Name Zack Falin
RoleCollection Manager
Emailksem@ku.edu
  • Data
  • Flags
  • Raw
Taxonomy
Scientific NameHexanchorus mcdiarmidi
KingdomAnimalia
PhylumArthropoda
ClassInsecta
OrderColeoptera
FamilyElmidae
GenusHexanchorus
Specific Epithetmcdiarmidi
Specimen
Identified ByMaier, Crystal
Date Identified2011
Catalog Number911170
PreparationsPinned - 1
Life Stageadult
Institution CodeKU
Collection CodeSEMC
Occurrence ID172ec983-1ed6-11e3-bfac-90b11c41863e
Dataset NameSnow Entomological Museum Collection
Basis of RecordPreservedSpecimen
Collection Event
Collected ByShepard, William
Date Collected2009-07-15
Year2009
Month7
Day15
Locality
CountryVenezuela
State / ProvinceBarinas
Higher GeographyVenezuela, Barinas
ContinentNeotropical
Localitynr Quiri, Rio Quiu
Decimal Latitude8.0556833
Decimal Longitude-70.9432833
Maximum Elevation in Meters203
Minimum Elevation in Meters203
Georeference ProtocolGPS
Geodetic DatumWGS84
specimen list