× Take our 30-second survey
The U.S. National Science Foundation and iDigBio are required to collect information on use of digitized collections-based specimen data. Please help us meet this requirement every time you use this search portal. Sustainability of the national digitization effort depends on evidence of data use! Maybe later.

Specimen Record

ContinentArctic Ocean
CountryUnited States
State/ProvinceFlorida
County/ParishNassau
LocalityHilliard
Latitude30.6908
Longitude-81.9175
Institution CodeKu
Collection CodeSemc
Catalog Number1137235
Collected ByBeamer, Raymond
Date Collected1934-07-28

From Recordset

http://biodiversity.ku.edu/entomology/collections

SEMC (Snow Entomological Museum Collection) comprises nearly 5 million pinned insect specimens. Our strengths are Apoidea, Neotropical Coleoptera (especially Staphylinidae, Hydrophiloidea, and Chrysomoloidea), Mecoptera, and fossil insects. We have digitized approximately 800,000 individual specimens (mostly Apoidea and Staphylinidae, Orthoptera, and various other smaller families).

Contacts

Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Michael Engel
RoleCurator in Charge
Emailmsengel@ku.edu
Name Caroline Chaboo
RoleCurator
Emailcschaboo@ku.edu
Name Andrew Short
RoleCurator
Emailaezshort@ku.edu
Name Laura Russell
RoleVertNet Programmer
Emaillarussell@ku.edu
Name Zack Falin
RoleCollection Manager
Emailksem@ku.edu
  • Data
  • Flags
  • Raw
Taxonomy
Scientific NameSigara bradleyi
KingdomAnimalia
PhylumArthropoda
ClassInsecta
OrderHemiptera
FamilyCorixidae
GenusSigara
Specific Epithetbradleyi
Specimen
Catalog Number1137235
PreparationsPinned
Life Stageadult
Institution CodeKU
Collection CodeSEMC
Occurrence ID4d58fc22-1ed6-11e3-bfac-90b11c41863e
Dataset NameSnow Entomological Museum Collection
Basis of RecordPreservedSpecimen
Associated Mediahttp://biimages.biodiversity.ku.edu/static/Entomology/originals/sp64980024312210567733.att.JPG
Collection Event
Collected ByBeamer, Raymond
Date Collected1934-07-28
Year1934
Month7
Day28
Locality
CountryUnited States
State / ProvinceFlorida
CountyNassau
Higher GeographyUnited States, Florida, Nassau
ContinentNearctic
LocalityHilliard
Decimal Latitude30.6908
Decimal Longitude-81.9175
specimen list