× Take our 30-second survey
The U.S. National Science Foundation and iDigBio are required to collect information on use of digitized collections-based specimen data. Please help us meet this requirement every time you use this search portal. Sustainability of the national digitization effort depends on evidence of data use! Maybe later.

Specimen Record

ContinentAfrica
CountryMadagascar
State/ProvinceToamasina
LocalityMahanoro, 50 Mi Nw
Institution CodeUsnm
Collection CodeMammals
Catalog Number63339
Collected ByW. Abbott
Date Collected1895-04-19

Media

From Recordset

http://collections.nmnh.si.edu

Public records of accessioned specimens and observations curated by the National Museum of Natural History, Smithsonian Institution. These data are from the Departments of Botany, Entomology, Invertebrate Zoology and Vertebrate Zoology (Amphibians & Reptiles, Birds, Fishes, and Mammals) and include more than 270,000 primary type specimen records.

Contacts

Name Thomas Orrell
RoleDeputy Director, Research Informatics Program
Emailorrellt@si.edu
Name Informatics Office
RoleIPT Administrator
Emailinformaticshelp@si.edu
Name Thomas Orrell
RoleDeputy Director, Research Informatics Program
Emailorrellt@si.edu
Name Informatics Office
RoleIPT Administrator
Emailinformaticshelp@si.edu
Name Chris Tuccinardi
RoleInformation Management
Emailtuccinar@si.edu
Name Karen Reed
RoleData Manager
Emailreedk@si.edu
Name Jessica Bird
RoleCollections Information Manager
Emailbirdj@si.edu
Name Jeff Williams
RoleCollection Manager
Emailwilliamsjt@si.edu
Name Kenneth Tighe
RoleDatabase Coordinator
Emailtighek@si.edu
Name Brian Schmidt
RoleMuseum Specialist
Emailschmidtb@si.edu
Name Ingrid Rochon
RoleScientific Data Manager
Emailrochoni@si.edu
Name Thomas Orrell
RoleDeputy Director, Research Informatics Program
Emailorrellt@si.edu
Name Informatics Office
RoleIPT Administrator
Emailinformaticshelp@si.edu
  • Data
  • Flags
  • Raw
Taxonomy
Scientific NameEulemur fulvus
Higher ClassficationAnimalia, Chordata, Vertebrata, Mammalia, Eutheria, Primates, Strepsirrhini, Lemuridae
KingdomAnimalia
PhylumChordata
ClassMammalia
OrderPrimates
FamilyLemuridae
GenusEulemur
Specific Epithetfulvus
Specimen
Catalog Number63339
PreparationsSkin; Skull
Individual Count1
SexMale
Institution CodeUSNM
Collection CodeMammals
Occurrence IDhttp://n2t.net/ark:/65665/380e75893-c74d-46d6-87af-e12596e70398
Dataset NameNMNH Extant Biology
Basis of RecordPreservedSpecimen
Type of ResourcePhysicalObject
Associated Media14799920; 15023883
Collection Event
Collected ByW. Abbott
Collector Number1
Date Collected1895-04-19
Verbatim Date Collected19 Apr 1895
Year1895
Month4
Day19
Start Day of Year109
End Day of Year109
Locality
CountryMadagascar
State / ProvinceToamasina
Higher GeographyIndian Ocean, Madagascar, Toamasina
Continentafrica
Water BodyIndian Ocean
LocalityMahanoro, 50 Mi NW
specimen list