× Take our 30-second survey
The U.S. National Science Foundation and iDigBio are required to collect information on use of digitized collections-based specimen data. Please help us meet this requirement every time you use this search portal. Sustainability of the national digitization effort depends on evidence of data use! Maybe later.

Specimen Record

ContinentNorth America
CountryCosta Rica
State/ProvinceGuanacaste
LocalitySanta Elena Forest Reserve, 8 Km Ne
Latitude10.345
Longitude-84.7981667
Institution CodeKu
Collection CodeSemc
Catalog Number476190
Collected ByPeck, Stuart
Date Collected2001-06-11

From Recordset

http://biodiversity.ku.edu/entomology/collections

SEMC (Snow Entomological Museum Collection) comprises nearly 5 million pinned insect specimens. Our strengths are Apoidea, Neotropical Coleoptera (especially Staphylinidae, Hydrophiloidea, and Chrysomoloidea), Mecoptera, and fossil insects. We have digitized approximately 800,000 individual specimens (mostly Apoidea and Staphylinidae, Orthoptera, and various other smaller families).

Contacts

Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Michael Engel
RoleCurator in Charge
Emailmsengel@ku.edu
Name Caroline Chaboo
RoleCurator
Emailcschaboo@ku.edu
Name Andrew Short
RoleCurator
Emailaezshort@ku.edu
Name Laura Russell
RoleVertNet Programmer
Emaillarussell@ku.edu
Name Zack Falin
RoleCollection Manager
Emailksem@ku.edu
  • Data
  • Flags
  • Raw
Taxonomy
Scientific NamePtilodactylidae
KingdomAnimalia
PhylumArthropoda
ClassInsecta
OrderColeoptera
FamilyPtilodactylidae
Specimen
Identified ByFalin, Zachary
Date Identified2004
Catalog Number476190
PreparationsPinned - 1
Life Stageadult
Institution CodeKU
Collection CodeSEMC
Occurrence ID21de31fa-1ed6-11e3-bfac-90b11c41863e
Dataset NameSnow Entomological Museum Collection
Basis of RecordPreservedSpecimen
Collection Event
Collected ByPeck, Stuart
Date Collected2001-06-11
Year2001
Month6
Day11
Locality
CountryCosta Rica
State / ProvinceGuanacaste
Higher GeographyCosta Rica, Guanacaste
ContinentNeotropical
LocalitySanta Elena Forest Reserve, 8 km NE
Decimal Latitude10.3450000
Decimal Longitude-84.7981667
Maximum Elevation in Meters1640
Minimum Elevation in Meters1640
specimen list