× Take our 30-second survey
The U.S. National Science Foundation and iDigBio are required to collect information on use of digitized collections-based specimen data. Please help us meet this requirement every time you use this search portal. Sustainability of the national digitization effort depends on evidence of data use! Maybe later.

Specimen Record

ContinentArctic Ocean
CountryUnited States
State/ProvinceKansas
County/ParishShawnee
LocalityTopeka
Latitude39.04833
Longitude-95.67778
Institution CodeKu
Collection CodeSemc
Catalog Number797446
Collected ByBeer, Robert
Date Collected1951-06-12

From Recordset

http://biodiversity.ku.edu/entomology/collections

SEMC (Snow Entomological Museum Collection) comprises nearly 5 million pinned insect specimens. Our strengths are Apoidea, Neotropical Coleoptera (especially Staphylinidae, Hydrophiloidea, and Chrysomoloidea), Mecoptera, and fossil insects. We have digitized approximately 800,000 individual specimens (mostly Apoidea and Staphylinidae, Orthoptera, and various other smaller families).

Contacts

Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Michael Engel
RoleCurator in Charge
Emailmsengel@ku.edu
Name Caroline Chaboo
RoleCurator
Emailcschaboo@ku.edu
Name Andrew Short
RoleCurator
Emailaezshort@ku.edu
Name Laura Russell
RoleVertNet Programmer
Emaillarussell@ku.edu
Name Zack Falin
RoleCollection Manager
Emailksem@ku.edu
  • Data
  • Flags
  • Raw
Taxonomy
Scientific NameCarpophilus
KingdomAnimalia
PhylumArthropoda
ClassInsecta
OrderColeoptera
FamilyNitidulidae
GenusCarpophilus
Specimen
Identified Byunknown
Catalog Number797446
PreparationsPinned - 1
Institution CodeKU
Collection CodeSEMC
Occurrence ID1c8faaf0-1ed6-11e3-bfac-90b11c41863e
Dataset NameSnow Entomological Museum Collection
Basis of RecordPreservedSpecimen
Associated TaxaYucca
Collection Event
Collected ByBeer, Robert
Date Collected1951-06-12
Year1951
Month6
Day12
Locality
CountryUnited States
State / ProvinceKansas
CountyShawnee
Higher GeographyUnited States, Kansas, Shawnee
ContinentNearctic
LocalityTopeka
Decimal Latitude39.04833
Decimal Longitude-95.67778
specimen list