× Take our 30-second survey
The U.S. National Science Foundation and iDigBio are required to collect information on use of digitized collections-based specimen data. Please help us meet this requirement every time you use this search portal. Sustainability of the national digitization effort depends on evidence of data use! Maybe later.

Specimen Record

ContinentSouth America
CountryBolivia
State/ProvinceBeni
LocalityTrinidad, 7 Km Sw
Latitude-14.87
Longitude-64.9588889
Institution CodeKu
Collection CodeSemc
Catalog Number1024141
Collected ByMiller, Kelly
Date Collected1998-07-18

From Recordset

http://biodiversity.ku.edu/entomology/collections

SEMC (Snow Entomological Museum Collection) comprises nearly 5 million pinned insect specimens. Our strengths are Apoidea, Neotropical Coleoptera (especially Staphylinidae, Hydrophiloidea, and Chrysomoloidea), Mecoptera, and fossil insects. We have digitized approximately 800,000 individual specimens (mostly Apoidea and Staphylinidae, Orthoptera, and various other smaller families).

Contacts

Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Michael Engel
RoleCurator in Charge
Emailmsengel@ku.edu
Name Caroline Chaboo
RoleCurator
Emailcschaboo@ku.edu
Name Andrew Short
RoleCurator
Emailaezshort@ku.edu
Name Laura Russell
RoleVertNet Programmer
Emaillarussell@ku.edu
Name Zack Falin
RoleCollection Manager
Emailksem@ku.edu
  • Data
  • Flags
  • Raw
Taxonomy
Scientific NameHydrochus
KingdomAnimalia
PhylumArthropoda
ClassInsecta
OrderColeoptera
FamilyHydrochidae
GenusHydrochus
Specimen
Identified ByShort, Andrew
Date Identified2012
Catalog Number1024141
PreparationsPinned - 1
Life Stageadult
Institution CodeKU
Collection CodeSEMC
Occurrence ID441cb82b-1ed6-11e3-bfac-90b11c41863e
Dataset NameSnow Entomological Museum Collection
Basis of RecordPreservedSpecimen
Collection Event
Collected ByMiller, Kelly
Date Collected1998-07-18
Year1998
Month7
Day18
Locality
CountryBolivia
State / ProvinceBeni
Higher GeographyBolivia, Beni
ContinentNeotropical
LocalityTrinidad, 7 km SW
Decimal Latitude-14.8700000
Decimal Longitude-64.9588889
Maximum Elevation in Meters163
Minimum Elevation in Meters163
specimen list