× Take our 30-second survey
The U.S. National Science Foundation and iDigBio are required to collect information on use of digitized collections-based specimen data. Please help us meet this requirement every time you use this search portal. Sustainability of the national digitization effort depends on evidence of data use! Maybe later.

Specimen Record

LocalityLeeward Islands, West Indies
Latitude17.28
Longitude-62.38
Institution CodeUsnm
Collection CodeFishes
Catalog Number221363
Date Collected1967-05-20

From Recordset

http://collections.nmnh.si.edu

Public records of accessioned specimens and observations curated by the National Museum of Natural History, Smithsonian Institution. These data are from the Departments of Botany, Entomology, Invertebrate Zoology and Vertebrate Zoology (Amphibians & Reptiles, Birds, Fishes, and Mammals) and include more than 270,000 primary type specimen records.

Contacts

Name Thomas Orrell
RoleNMNH Informatics
Emailorrellt@si.edu
Name Thomas Orrell
RoleNMNH Informatics
Emailorrellt@si.edu
Name Chris Tuccinardi
RoleInformation Management
Emailtuccinar@si.edu
Name Karen Reed
RoleData Manager
Emailreedk@si.edu
Name Jessica Bird
RoleCollections Information Manager
Emailbirdj@si.edu
Name Jeff Williams
RoleCollection Manager
Emailwilliamsjt@si.edu
Name Kenneth Tighe
RoleDatabase Coordinator
Emailtighek@si.edu
Name Brian Schmidt
RoleMuseum Specialist
Emailschmidtb@si.edu
Name Ingrid Rochon
RoleScientific Data Manager
Emailrochoni@si.edu
Name Thomas Orrell
RoleNMNH Informatics
Emailorrellt@si.edu
  • Data
  • Flags
  • Raw
Taxonomy
Scientific NameGaleus springeri
Higher ClassficationAnimalia, Chordata, Vertebrata, Chondrichthyes, Chondrichthyes, Elasmobranchii, Euselachii, Carcharhiniformes, Scyliorhinidae
KingdomAnimalia
PhylumChordata
ClassChondrichthyes
OrderCarcharhiniformes
FamilyScyliorhinidae
GenusGaleus
Specific Epithetspringeri
Scientific Name AuthorsKonstantinou & Cozzi
Specimen
Catalog Number221363
Individual Count1
Institution CodeUSNM
Collection CodeFishes
Occurrence IDhttp://n2t.net/ark:/65665/3c59a805f-c321-47aa-979e-a738446b04e1
Dataset NameNMNH Extant Biology
Basis of RecordPreservedSpecimen
Type of ResourcePhysicalObject
Collection Event
Date Collected1967-05-20
Verbatim Date Collected1967 May 20 - 0000 00 00
Year1967
Month5
Day20
Start Day of Year140
End Day of Year140
Collection RemarksMale, 179 mm tl Location originally entered as Anguilla. The jar label may have this location.
Locality
Higher GeographyAtlantic, Caribbean Sea, Lesser Antilles, Leeward Islands
Water BodyAtlantic, Caribbean Sea
Island GroupLeeward Islands
LocalityLeeward Islands, West Indies
Decimal Latitude17.28
Decimal Longitude-62.38
Verbatim Latitude1717 N
Verbatim Longitude06223 W
Maximum Depth in Meters677
Minimum Depth in Meters640
Location ID6701
Other
IDhttp://n2t.net/ark:/65665/3c59a805f-c321-47aa-979e-a738446b04e1
dwc:datasetID7ddf754f-d193-4cc9-b351-99906754a03b
dwc:institutionIDhttp://biocol.org/urn:lsid:biocol.org:col:34871
dwc:verbatimCoordinateSystemDegrees Minutes Seconds
specimen list