× Take our 30-second survey
The U.S. National Science Foundation and iDigBio are required to collect information on use of digitized collections-based specimen data. Please help us meet this requirement every time you use this search portal. Sustainability of the national digitization effort depends on evidence of data use! Maybe later.

Specimen Record

ContinentAustralia
CountryAustralia
State/ProvinceSouth Australia
LocalityKingston, 15 Km N
Latitude-36.6697222
Longitude139.8855556
Institution CodeKu
Collection CodeSemc
Catalog Number1023766
Collected ByMiller, Kelly
Date Collected2000-11-13

From Recordset

http://biodiversity.ku.edu/entomology/collections

SEMC (Snow Entomological Museum Collection) comprises nearly 5 million pinned insect specimens. Our strengths are Apoidea, Neotropical Coleoptera (especially Staphylinidae, Hydrophiloidea, and Chrysomoloidea), Mecoptera, and fossil insects. We have digitized approximately 800,000 individual specimens (mostly Apoidea and Staphylinidae, Orthoptera, and various other smaller families).

Contacts

Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Michael Engel
RoleCurator in Charge
Emailmsengel@ku.edu
Name Caroline Chaboo
RoleCurator
Emailcschaboo@ku.edu
Name Andrew Short
RoleCurator
Emailaezshort@ku.edu
Name Laura Russell
RoleVertNet Programmer
Emaillarussell@ku.edu
Name Zack Falin
RoleCollection Manager
Emailksem@ku.edu
  • Data
  • Flags
  • Raw
Taxonomy
Scientific NameLimnoxenus zealandicus
KingdomAnimalia
PhylumArthropoda
ClassInsecta
OrderColeoptera
FamilyHydrophilidae
GenusLimnoxenus
Specific Epithetzealandicus
Specimen
Identified ByShort, Andrew
Date Identified2012
Catalog Number1023766
PreparationsPinned - 1
Life Stageadult
Institution CodeKU
Collection CodeSEMC
Occurrence ID440fa5e2-1ed6-11e3-bfac-90b11c41863e
Dataset NameSnow Entomological Museum Collection
Basis of RecordPreservedSpecimen
Collection Event
Collected ByMiller, Kelly
Date Collected2000-11-13
Year2000
Month11
Day13
Locality
CountryAustralia
State / ProvinceSouth Australia
Higher GeographyAustralia, South Australia
ContinentAustralian
LocalityKingston, 15 km N
Decimal Latitude-36.6697222
Decimal Longitude139.8855556
specimen list