× Take our 30-second survey
The U.S. National Science Foundation and iDigBio are required to collect information on use of digitized collections-based specimen data. Please help us meet this requirement every time you use this search portal. Sustainability of the national digitization effort depends on evidence of data use! Maybe later.

Specimen Record

ContinentSouth America
CountryVenezuela
State/ProvinceZulia
LocalityPerija National Park, Tukuko, Rio Manantial
Latitude9.8415
Longitude-72.82183330000001
Institution CodeKu
Collection CodeSemc
Catalog Number845425
Collected ByShort, Garcia, Camacho
Date Collected2009-01-29

From Recordset

http://biodiversity.ku.edu/entomology/collections

SEMC (Snow Entomological Museum Collection) comprises nearly 5 million pinned insect specimens. Our strengths are Apoidea, Neotropical Coleoptera (especially Staphylinidae, Hydrophiloidea, and Chrysomoloidea), Mecoptera, and fossil insects. We have digitized approximately 800,000 individual specimens (mostly Apoidea and Staphylinidae, Orthoptera, and various other smaller families).

Contacts

Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Michael Engel
RoleCurator in Charge
Emailmsengel@ku.edu
Name Caroline Chaboo
RoleCurator
Emailcschaboo@ku.edu
Name Andrew Short
RoleCurator
Emailaezshort@ku.edu
Name Laura Russell
RoleVertNet Programmer
Emaillarussell@ku.edu
Name Zack Falin
RoleCollection Manager
Emailksem@ku.edu
  • Data
  • Flags
  • Raw
Taxonomy
Scientific NameDesmopachria
KingdomAnimalia
PhylumArthropoda
ClassInsecta
OrderColeoptera
FamilyDytiscidae
GenusDesmopachria
Specimen
Identified ByMiller, Kelly
Date Identified2009
Catalog Number845425
PreparationsPinned - 1
Institution CodeKU
Collection CodeSEMC
Occurrence ID34716f23-1ed6-11e3-bfac-90b11c41863e
Dataset NameSnow Entomological Museum Collection
Basis of RecordPreservedSpecimen
Collection Event
Collected ByShort, Garcia, Camacho
Date Collected2009-01-29
Year2009
Month1
Day29
Locality
CountryVenezuela
State / ProvinceZulia
Higher GeographyVenezuela, Zulia
ContinentNeotropical
LocalityPerija National Park, Tukuko, Rio Manantial
Decimal Latitude9.8415000
Decimal Longitude-72.8218333
Maximum Elevation in Meters270
Minimum Elevation in Meters270
Georeference ProtocolGPS
Geodetic DatumWGS84
specimen list