× Take our 30-second survey
The U.S. National Science Foundation and iDigBio are required to collect information on use of digitized collections-based specimen data. Please help us meet this requirement every time you use this search portal. Sustainability of the national digitization effort depends on evidence of data use! Maybe later.

Specimen Record

ContinentNorth America
CountryCosta Rica
State/ProvincePuntarenas
LocalityPiedras Blancas, 24 Km W R. F. Golfo Dulce
Latitude8.7666667
Longitude-83.4
Institution CodeKu
Collection CodeSemc
Catalog Number62260
Collected ByHanson, Paul
Date Collected1989-11-30

From Recordset

http://biodiversity.ku.edu/entomology/collections

SEMC (Snow Entomological Museum Collection) comprises nearly 5 million pinned insect specimens. Our strengths are Apoidea, Neotropical Coleoptera (especially Staphylinidae, Hydrophiloidea, and Chrysomoloidea), Mecoptera, and fossil insects. We have digitized approximately 800,000 individual specimens (mostly Apoidea and Staphylinidae, Orthoptera, and various other smaller families).

Contacts

Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Michael Engel
RoleCurator in Charge
Emailmsengel@ku.edu
Name Caroline Chaboo
RoleCurator
Emailcschaboo@ku.edu
Name Andrew Short
RoleCurator
Emailaezshort@ku.edu
Name Laura Russell
RoleVertNet Programmer
Emaillarussell@ku.edu
Name Zack Falin
RoleCollection Manager
Emailksem@ku.edu
  • Data
  • Flags
  • Raw
Taxonomy
Scientific NameHolisus elatus
KingdomAnimalia
PhylumArthropoda
ClassInsecta
OrderColeoptera
FamilyStaphylinidae
GenusHolisus
Specific Epithetelatus
Specimen
Identified ByAshe, James
Date Identified1994
Catalog Number62260
PreparationsPinned - 1
Life Stageadult
Institution CodeKU
Collection CodeSEMC
Occurrence ID28016473-1ed6-11e3-bfac-90b11c41863e
Dataset NameSnow Entomological Museum Collection
Basis of RecordPreservedSpecimen
Collection Event
Collected ByHanson, Paul
Date Collected1989-11-30
Year1989
Month12
Locality
CountryCosta Rica
State / ProvincePuntarenas
Higher GeographyCosta Rica, Puntarenas
ContinentNeotropical
LocalityPiedras Blancas, 24 km W R. F. Golfo Dulce
Decimal Latitude8.7666667
Decimal Longitude-83.4000000
Maximum Elevation in Meters200
Minimum Elevation in Meters200
specimen list