× Take our 30-second survey
The U.S. National Science Foundation and iDigBio are required to collect information on use of digitized collections-based specimen data. Please help us meet this requirement every time you use this search portal. Sustainability of the national digitization effort depends on evidence of data use! Maybe later.

Specimen Record

ContinentAfrica
CountrySomalia
LocalitySomali Coast
Latitude11.4
Longitude51.58
Institution CodeUsnm
Collection CodeFishes
Catalog Number202969
Collected ByE. Chin Et Al.
Date Collected1964-12-17

From Recordset

http://collections.nmnh.si.edu

Public records of accessioned specimens and observations curated by the National Museum of Natural History, Smithsonian Institution. These data are from the Departments of Botany, Entomology, Invertebrate Zoology and Vertebrate Zoology (Amphibians & Reptiles, Birds, Fishes, and Mammals) and include more than 270,000 primary type specimen records.

Contacts

Name Thomas Orrell
RoleNMNH Informatics
Emailorrellt@si.edu
Name Thomas Orrell
RoleNMNH Informatics
Emailorrellt@si.edu
Name Chris Tuccinardi
RoleInformation Management
Emailtuccinar@si.edu
Name Karen Reed
RoleData Manager
Emailreedk@si.edu
Name Jessica Bird
RoleCollections Information Manager
Emailbirdj@si.edu
Name Jeff Williams
RoleCollection Manager
Emailwilliamsjt@si.edu
Name Kenneth Tighe
RoleDatabase Coordinator
Emailtighek@si.edu
Name Brian Schmidt
RoleMuseum Specialist
Emailschmidtb@si.edu
Name Ingrid Rochon
RoleScientific Data Manager
Emailrochoni@si.edu
Name Thomas Orrell
RoleNMNH Informatics
Emailorrellt@si.edu
  • Data
  • Flags
  • Raw
Taxonomy
Scientific NameTriakis fehlmanni
Higher ClassficationAnimalia, Chordata, Vertebrata, Chondrichthyes, Chondrichthyes, Elasmobranchii, Euselachii, Carcharhiniformes, Proscylliidae
KingdomAnimalia
PhylumChordata
ClassChondrichthyes
OrderCarcharhiniformes
FamilyProscylliidae
GenusTriakis
Specific Epithetfehlmanni
Scientific Name AuthorsSpringer
Specimen
Type StatusHolotype
Catalog Number202969
Individual Count1
Institution CodeUSNM
Collection CodeFishes
Occurrence IDhttp://n2t.net/ark:/65665/3e62521e2-470c-49a9-b634-f74b22f4a952
Dataset NameNMNH Extant Biology
Basis of RecordPreservedSpecimen
Type of ResourcePhysicalObject
Collection Event
Collected ByE. Chin et al.
Date Collected1964-12-17
Verbatim Date Collected1964 Dec 17 - 0000 00 00
Year1964
Month12
Day17
Start Day of Year352
End Day of Year352
Collection RemarksOriginal station number on label "178" is incorrect, there is no station 178 for Anton Bruun cruise 9. Data matches that for station 463.
Locality
CountrySomalia
Higher GeographyIndian, Somalia
Continentafrica
Water BodyIndian
LocalitySomali Coast
Decimal Latitude11.4
Decimal Longitude51.58
Verbatim Latitude1124 N
Verbatim Longitude05135 E
Maximum Depth in Meters175
Minimum Depth in Meters75
Location ID463
Other
IDhttp://n2t.net/ark:/65665/3e62521e2-470c-49a9-b634-f74b22f4a952
dwc:datasetID7ddf754f-d193-4cc9-b351-99906754a03b
dwc:institutionIDhttp://biocol.org/urn:lsid:biocol.org:col:34871
dwc:verbatimCoordinateSystemDegrees Minutes Seconds
specimen list