× Take our 30-second survey
The U.S. National Science Foundation and iDigBio are required to collect information on use of digitized collections-based specimen data. Please help us meet this requirement every time you use this search portal. Sustainability of the national digitization effort depends on evidence of data use! Maybe later.

Specimen Record

ContinentNorth America
CountryGuatemala
State/ProvinceBaja Verapaz
LocalityBiotopo Quetzal
Latitude15.213570000000002
Longitude-90.21826
Institution CodeKu
Collection CodeSemc
Catalog Number883011
Collected ByLlama Project
Date Collected2009-05-07

From Recordset

http://biodiversity.ku.edu/entomology/collections

SEMC (Snow Entomological Museum Collection) comprises nearly 5 million pinned insect specimens. Our strengths are Apoidea, Neotropical Coleoptera (especially Staphylinidae, Hydrophiloidea, and Chrysomoloidea), Mecoptera, and fossil insects. We have digitized approximately 800,000 individual specimens (mostly Apoidea and Staphylinidae, Orthoptera, and various other smaller families).

Contacts

Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Michael Engel
RoleCurator in Charge
Emailmsengel@ku.edu
Name Caroline Chaboo
RoleCurator
Emailcschaboo@ku.edu
Name Andrew Short
RoleCurator
Emailaezshort@ku.edu
Name Laura Russell
RoleVertNet Programmer
Emaillarussell@ku.edu
Name Zack Falin
RoleCollection Manager
Emailksem@ku.edu
  • Data
  • Flags
  • Raw
Taxonomy
Scientific NamePhyllophaga
KingdomAnimalia
PhylumArthropoda
ClassInsecta
OrderColeoptera
FamilyScarabaeidae
GenusPhyllophaga
Specimen
Identified BySmith, Andrew
Date Identified2012
Catalog Number883011
PreparationsPinned - 1
Institution CodeKU
Collection CodeSEMC
Occurrence ID3b071b60-1ed6-11e3-bfac-90b11c41863e
Dataset NameSnow Entomological Museum Collection
Basis of RecordPreservedSpecimen
Collection Event
Collected ByLLAMA Project
Date Collected2009-05-07
Year2009
Month5
Day7
Locality
CountryGuatemala
State / ProvinceBaja Verapaz
Higher GeographyGuatemala, Baja Verapaz
ContinentNeotropical
LocalityBiotopo Quetzal
Decimal Latitude15.21357
Decimal Longitude-90.21826
Maximum Elevation in Meters1690
Minimum Elevation in Meters1690
Georeference ProtocolGPS
Geodetic DatumWGS84
specimen list