× Take our 30-second survey
The U.S. National Science Foundation and iDigBio are required to collect information on use of digitized collections-based specimen data. Please help us meet this requirement every time you use this search portal. Sustainability of the national digitization effort depends on evidence of data use! Maybe later.

Specimen Record

ContinentNorth America
CountryMexico
State/ProvinceBaja California Sur
LocalityLa Paz, 6 Km Se
Latitude24.1283333
Longitude-110.2416667
Institution CodeKu
Collection CodeSemc
Catalog Number330527
Collected ByYanega, Douglas
Date Collected1994-04-10

From Recordset

http://biodiversity.ku.edu/entomology/collections

SEMC (Snow Entomological Museum Collection) comprises nearly 5 million pinned insect specimens. Our strengths are Apoidea, Neotropical Coleoptera (especially Staphylinidae, Hydrophiloidea, and Chrysomoloidea), Mecoptera, and fossil insects. We have digitized approximately 800,000 individual specimens (mostly Apoidea and Staphylinidae, Orthoptera, and various other smaller families).

Contacts

Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Michael Engel
RoleCurator in Charge
Emailmsengel@ku.edu
Name Caroline Chaboo
RoleCurator
Emailcschaboo@ku.edu
Name Andrew Short
RoleCurator
Emailaezshort@ku.edu
Name Laura Russell
RoleVertNet Programmer
Emaillarussell@ku.edu
Name Zack Falin
RoleCollection Manager
Emailksem@ku.edu
  • Data
  • Flags
  • Raw
Taxonomy
Scientific NameScymninae
KingdomAnimalia
PhylumArthropoda
ClassInsecta
OrderColeoptera
FamilyCoccinellidae
Specimen
Identified ByMontgomery, H
Date Identified2005
Catalog Number330527
PreparationsPinned - 1
Life Stageadult
Institution CodeKU
Collection CodeSEMC
Occurrence ID2a5f6ba3-1ed6-11e3-bfac-90b11c41863e
Dataset NameSnow Entomological Museum Collection
Basis of RecordPreservedSpecimen
Associated TaxaAsclepias
Collection Event
Collected ByYanega, Douglas
Date Collected1994-04-10
Year1994
Month4
Day10
Locality
CountryMexico
State / ProvinceBaja California Sur
Higher GeographyMexico, Baja California Sur
ContinentNeotropical
LocalityLa Paz, 6 km SE
Habitatflowers, on
Decimal Latitude24.1283333
Decimal Longitude-110.2416667
Maximum Elevation in Meters110
Minimum Elevation in Meters110
Georeference Protocolcalculated
specimen list