× Take our 30-second survey
The U.S. National Science Foundation and iDigBio are required to collect information on use of digitized collections-based specimen data. Please help us meet this requirement every time you use this search portal. Sustainability of the national digitization effort depends on evidence of data use! Maybe later.

Specimen Record

ContinentArctic Ocean
CountryUnited States
State/ProvinceKansas
County/ParishShawnee
LocalityWoodring Rd And 69th St, S Of Intersection
Latitude38.9413333
Longitude-95.5001667
Institution CodeKu
Collection CodeSemc
Catalog Number728183
Collected ByHilbert, B
Date Collected2005-06-06

From Recordset

http://biodiversity.ku.edu/entomology/collections

SEMC (Snow Entomological Museum Collection) comprises nearly 5 million pinned insect specimens. Our strengths are Apoidea, Neotropical Coleoptera (especially Staphylinidae, Hydrophiloidea, and Chrysomoloidea), Mecoptera, and fossil insects. We have digitized approximately 800,000 individual specimens (mostly Apoidea and Staphylinidae, Orthoptera, and various other smaller families).

Contacts

Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Michael Engel
RoleCurator in Charge
Emailmsengel@ku.edu
Name Caroline Chaboo
RoleCurator
Emailcschaboo@ku.edu
Name Andrew Short
RoleCurator
Emailaezshort@ku.edu
Name Laura Russell
RoleVertNet Programmer
Emaillarussell@ku.edu
Name Zack Falin
RoleCollection Manager
Emailksem@ku.edu
  • Data
  • Flags
  • Raw
Taxonomy
Scientific NameAphrophora quadrinotata
KingdomAnimalia
PhylumArthropoda
ClassInsecta
OrderHemiptera
FamilyCercopidae
GenusAphrophora
Specific Epithetquadrinotata
Specimen
Identified ByFalin, Zachary
Date Identified2013
Catalog Number728183
PreparationsPinned - 1
Life Stageadult
Institution CodeKU
Collection CodeSEMC
Occurrence ID39a5f45f-1ed6-11e3-bfac-90b11c41863e
Dataset NameSnow Entomological Museum Collection
Basis of RecordPreservedSpecimen
Collection Event
Collected ByHilbert, B
Date Collected2005-06-06
Year2005
Month6
Day6
Locality
CountryUnited States
State / ProvinceKansas
CountyShawnee
Higher GeographyUnited States, Kansas, Shawnee
ContinentNearctic
LocalityWoodring Rd and 69th St, S of intersection
Decimal Latitude38.9413333
Decimal Longitude-95.5001667
Georeference ProtocolGPS
specimen list