× Take our 30-second survey
The U.S. National Science Foundation and iDigBio are required to collect information on use of digitized collections-based specimen data. Please help us meet this requirement every time you use this search portal. Sustainability of the national digitization effort depends on evidence of data use! Maybe later.

Specimen Record

ContinentNorth America
CountryVirgin Islands (u.s.)
State/ProvinceSaint Thomas
LocalitySt. Thomas
Institution CodeUsnm
Collection CodeBirds
Catalog Number97861
Collected ByJ. Benedict
Date Collected1884-01-17

From Recordset

http://collections.nmnh.si.edu

Public records of accessioned specimens and observations curated by the National Museum of Natural History, Smithsonian Institution. These data are from the Departments of Botany, Entomology, Invertebrate Zoology and Vertebrate Zoology (Amphibians & Reptiles, Birds, Fishes, and Mammals) and include more than 270,000 primary type specimen records.

Contacts

Name Thomas Orrell
RoleDeputy Director, Research Informatics Program
Emailorrellt@si.edu
Name Informatics Office
RoleIPT Administrator
Emailinformaticshelp@si.edu
Name Thomas Orrell
RoleDeputy Director, Research Informatics Program
Emailorrellt@si.edu
Name Informatics Office
RoleIPT Administrator
Emailinformaticshelp@si.edu
Name Chris Tuccinardi
RoleInformation Management
Emailtuccinar@si.edu
Name Karen Reed
RoleData Manager
Emailreedk@si.edu
Name Jessica Bird
RoleCollections Information Manager
Emailbirdj@si.edu
Name Jeff Williams
RoleCollection Manager
Emailwilliamsjt@si.edu
Name Kenneth Tighe
RoleDatabase Coordinator
Emailtighek@si.edu
Name Brian Schmidt
RoleMuseum Specialist
Emailschmidtb@si.edu
Name Ingrid Rochon
RoleScientific Data Manager
Emailrochoni@si.edu
Name Thomas Orrell
RoleDeputy Director, Research Informatics Program
Emailorrellt@si.edu
Name Informatics Office
RoleIPT Administrator
Emailinformaticshelp@si.edu
  • Data
  • Flags
  • Raw
Taxonomy
Scientific NameTiaris bicolor
Higher ClassficationAnimalia, Chordata, Vertebrata, Aves, Passeriformes, Emberizidae, Emberizinae
KingdomAnimalia
PhylumChordata
ClassAves
OrderPasseriformes
FamilyEmberizidae
GenusTiaris
Specific Epithetbicolor
Specimen
Catalog Number97861
PreparationsAlcoholic: Whole
Individual Count1
Life StageAdult
Sexunknown
Institution CodeUSNM
Collection CodeBirds
Occurrence IDhttp://n2t.net/ark:/65665/37a325d5e-74b4-4fb3-a667-1e6946611410
Dataset NameNMNH Extant Biology
Basis of RecordPreservedSpecimen
Type of ResourcePhysicalObject
Collection Event
Collected ByJ. Benedict
Date Collected1884-01-17
Verbatim Date Collected17 Jan 1884
Year1884
Month1
Day17
Start Day of Year17
End Day of Year17
Locality
CountryVirgin Islands (U.S.)
State / ProvinceSaint Thomas
Higher GeographyNorth America, Virgin Islands (U.S.), Saint Thomas
ContinentNorth America
LocalitySt. Thomas
specimen list