× Take our 30-second survey
The U.S. National Science Foundation and iDigBio are required to collect information on use of digitized collections-based specimen data. Please help us meet this requirement every time you use this search portal. Sustainability of the national digitization effort depends on evidence of data use! Maybe later.

Specimen Record

ContinentNorth America
CountryUnited States
State/ProvinceCalifornia
LocalityOff San Pedro, California.
Latitude34.2367
Longitude-120.043
Institution CodeUsnm
Collection CodeFishes
Catalog Number221463
Collected ByCalifornia Department Of Fish And Game
Date Collected1963-03-19

Media

From Recordset

http://collections.nmnh.si.edu

Public records of accessioned specimens and observations curated by the National Museum of Natural History, Smithsonian Institution. These data are from the Departments of Botany, Entomology, Invertebrate Zoology and Vertebrate Zoology (Amphibians & Reptiles, Birds, Fishes, and Mammals) and include more than 270,000 primary type specimen records.

Contacts

Name Thomas Orrell
RoleNMNH Informatics
Emailorrellt@si.edu
Name Thomas Orrell
RoleNMNH Informatics
Emailorrellt@si.edu
Name Chris Tuccinardi
RoleInformation Management
Emailtuccinar@si.edu
Name Karen Reed
RoleData Manager
Emailreedk@si.edu
Name Jessica Bird
RoleCollections Information Manager
Emailbirdj@si.edu
Name Jeff Williams
RoleCollection Manager
Emailwilliamsjt@si.edu
Name Kenneth Tighe
RoleDatabase Coordinator
Emailtighek@si.edu
Name Brian Schmidt
RoleMuseum Specialist
Emailschmidtb@si.edu
Name Ingrid Rochon
RoleScientific Data Manager
Emailrochoni@si.edu
Name Thomas Orrell
RoleNMNH Informatics
Emailorrellt@si.edu
  • Data
  • Flags
  • Raw
Taxonomy
Scientific NameParmaturus xaniurus
Higher ClassficationAnimalia, Chordata, Vertebrata, Chondrichthyes, Chondrichthyes, Elasmobranchii, Euselachii, Carcharhiniformes, Scyliorhinidae
KingdomAnimalia
PhylumChordata
ClassChondrichthyes
OrderCarcharhiniformes
FamilyScyliorhinidae
GenusParmaturus
Specific Epithetxaniurus
Specimen
Catalog Number221463
PreparationsRadiograph
Individual Count3
Institution CodeUSNM
Collection CodeFishes
Occurrence IDhttp://n2t.net/ark:/65665/33babe37b-7164-4a6c-b7f2-4a798ce063d7
Dataset NameNMNH Extant Biology
Basis of RecordPreservedSpecimen
Type of ResourcePhysicalObject
Associated Media10976233
Collection Event
Collected ByCalifornia Department of Fish and Game
Date Collected1963-03-19
Verbatim Date Collected1963 Mar 19 - 0000 00 00
Year1963
Month3
Day19
Start Day of Year78
End Day of Year78
Locality
CountryUnited States
State / ProvinceCalifornia
Higher GeographyPacific, United States, California
Continentnorth america
Water BodyPacific
LocalityOff San Pedro, California.
Decimal Latitude34.2367
Decimal Longitude-120.043
Verbatim Latitude341412N
Verbatim Longitude1200236W
Other
IDhttp://n2t.net/ark:/65665/33babe37b-7164-4a6c-b7f2-4a798ce063d7
dwc:datasetID7ddf754f-d193-4cc9-b351-99906754a03b
dwc:institutionIDhttp://biocol.org/urn:lsid:biocol.org:col:34871
dwc:verbatimCoordinateSystemDegrees Minutes Seconds
specimen list