× Take our 30-second survey
The U.S. National Science Foundation and iDigBio are required to collect information on use of digitized collections-based specimen data. Please help us meet this requirement every time you use this search portal. Sustainability of the national digitization effort depends on evidence of data use! Maybe later.

Specimen Record

ContinentSouth America
CountryVenezuela
State/ProvinceGuarico
LocalityN Of Palenque
Latitude9.1132333
Longitude-66.99325
Institution CodeKu
Collection CodeSemc
Catalog Number852971
Collected ByShort, Garcia, Camacho, Miller, Joly
Date Collected2009-01-08

From Recordset

http://biodiversity.ku.edu/entomology/collections

SEMC (Snow Entomological Museum Collection) comprises nearly 5 million pinned insect specimens. Our strengths are Apoidea, Neotropical Coleoptera (especially Staphylinidae, Hydrophiloidea, and Chrysomoloidea), Mecoptera, and fossil insects. We have digitized approximately 800,000 individual specimens (mostly Apoidea and Staphylinidae, Orthoptera, and various other smaller families).

Contacts

Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Michael Engel
RoleCurator in Charge
Emailmsengel@ku.edu
Name Caroline Chaboo
RoleCurator
Emailcschaboo@ku.edu
Name Andrew Short
RoleCurator
Emailaezshort@ku.edu
Name Laura Russell
RoleVertNet Programmer
Emaillarussell@ku.edu
Name Zack Falin
RoleCollection Manager
Emailksem@ku.edu
  • Data
  • Flags
  • Raw
Taxonomy
Scientific NameBidessonotus NT_spA
KingdomAnimalia
PhylumArthropoda
ClassInsecta
OrderColeoptera
FamilyDytiscidae
GenusBidessonotus
Specific EpithetNT_spA
Specimen
Identified ByMiller, Kelly
Date Identified2012
Catalog Number852971
PreparationsPinned - 1
Institution CodeKU
Collection CodeSEMC
Occurrence ID40bb2a1a-1ed6-11e3-bfac-90b11c41863e
Dataset NameSnow Entomological Museum Collection
Basis of RecordPreservedSpecimen
Collection Event
Collected ByShort, Garcia, Camacho, Miller, Joly
Date Collected2009-01-08
Year2009
Month1
Day8
Locality
CountryVenezuela
State / ProvinceGuarico
Higher GeographyVenezuela, Guarico
ContinentNeotropical
LocalityN of Palenque
Decimal Latitude9.1132333
Decimal Longitude-66.9932500
Maximum Elevation in Meters152
Minimum Elevation in Meters152
Georeference ProtocolGPS
Geodetic DatumWGS84
specimen list