× Take our 30-second survey
The U.S. National Science Foundation and iDigBio are required to collect information on use of digitized collections-based specimen data. Please help us meet this requirement every time you use this search portal. Sustainability of the national digitization effort depends on evidence of data use! Maybe later.

Specimen Record

ContinentNorth America
CountryCosta Rica
State/ProvinceCartago
LocalityTapanti National Park, Rain Gauge
Latitude9.7493167
Longitude-83.7821
Institution CodeKu
Collection CodeSemc
Catalog Number964413
Collected ByShort, Falin, Eldredge, Gustafson
Date Collected2010-03-18

From Recordset

http://biodiversity.ku.edu/entomology/collections

SEMC (Snow Entomological Museum Collection) comprises nearly 5 million pinned insect specimens. Our strengths are Apoidea, Neotropical Coleoptera (especially Staphylinidae, Hydrophiloidea, and Chrysomoloidea), Mecoptera, and fossil insects. We have digitized approximately 800,000 individual specimens (mostly Apoidea and Staphylinidae, Orthoptera, and various other smaller families).

Contacts

Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Michael Engel
RoleCurator in Charge
Emailmsengel@ku.edu
Name Caroline Chaboo
RoleCurator
Emailcschaboo@ku.edu
Name Andrew Short
RoleCurator
Emailaezshort@ku.edu
Name Laura Russell
RoleVertNet Programmer
Emaillarussell@ku.edu
Name Zack Falin
RoleCollection Manager
Emailksem@ku.edu
  • Data
  • Flags
  • Raw
Taxonomy
Scientific NameAnacaena
KingdomAnimalia
PhylumArthropoda
ClassInsecta
OrderColeoptera
FamilyHydrophilidae
GenusAnacaena
Specimen
Date Identified2011
Catalog Number964413
PreparationsPinned - 1
Institution CodeKU
Collection CodeSEMC
Occurrence ID202550a6-1ed6-11e3-bfac-90b11c41863e
Dataset NameSnow Entomological Museum Collection
Basis of RecordPreservedSpecimen
Collection Event
Collected ByShort, Falin, Eldredge, Gustafson
Date Collected2010-03-18
Year2010
Month3
Day18
Locality
CountryCosta Rica
State / ProvinceCartago
Higher GeographyCosta Rica, Cartago
ContinentNeotropical
LocalityTapanti National Park, rain gauge
Decimal Latitude9.7493167
Decimal Longitude-83.7821000
Maximum Elevation in Meters1300
Minimum Elevation in Meters1300
Georeference ProtocolGPS
Geodetic DatumWGS84
specimen list