× Take our 30-second survey
The U.S. National Science Foundation and iDigBio are required to collect information on use of digitized collections-based specimen data. Please help us meet this requirement every time you use this search portal. Sustainability of the national digitization effort depends on evidence of data use! Maybe later.

Specimen Record

ContinentArctic Ocean
CountryUnited States
State/ProvinceFlorida
County/ParishMonroe
LocalityKey Largo
Latitude25.0861
Longitude-80.4475
Institution CodeKu
Collection CodeSemc
Catalog Number449857
Collected ByNottingham, J
Date Collected1930-08-09

From Recordset

http://biodiversity.ku.edu/entomology/collections

SEMC (Snow Entomological Museum Collection) comprises nearly 5 million pinned insect specimens. Our strengths are Apoidea, Neotropical Coleoptera (especially Staphylinidae, Hydrophiloidea, and Chrysomoloidea), Mecoptera, and fossil insects. We have digitized approximately 800,000 individual specimens (mostly Apoidea and Staphylinidae, Orthoptera, and various other smaller families).

Contacts

Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Michael Engel
RoleCurator in Charge
Emailmsengel@ku.edu
Name Caroline Chaboo
RoleCurator
Emailcschaboo@ku.edu
Name Andrew Short
RoleCurator
Emailaezshort@ku.edu
Name Laura Russell
RoleVertNet Programmer
Emaillarussell@ku.edu
Name Zack Falin
RoleCollection Manager
Emailksem@ku.edu
  • Data
  • Flags
  • Raw
Taxonomy
Scientific NameHapithus agitator
KingdomAnimalia
PhylumArthropoda
ClassInsecta
OrderOrthoptera
FamilyGryllidae
GenusHapithus
Specific Epithetagitator
Specimen
Identified Byunknown
Catalog Number449857
PreparationsPinned - 1
Life Stageadult
Institution CodeKU
Collection CodeSEMC
Occurrence ID20e17134-1ed6-11e3-bfac-90b11c41863e
Dataset NameSnow Entomological Museum Collection
Basis of RecordPreservedSpecimen
Collection Event
Collected ByNottingham, J
Date Collected1930-08-09
Year1930
Month8
Day9
Locality
CountryUnited States
State / ProvinceFlorida
CountyMonroe
Higher GeographyUnited States, Florida, Monroe
ContinentNearctic
LocalityKey Largo
Decimal Latitude25.0861
Decimal Longitude-80.4475
specimen list