× Take our 30-second survey
The U.S. National Science Foundation and iDigBio are required to collect information on use of digitized collections-based specimen data. Please help us meet this requirement every time you use this search portal. Sustainability of the national digitization effort depends on evidence of data use! Maybe later.

Specimen Record

ContinentArctic Ocean
CountryUnited States
State/ProvinceMinnesota
County/ParishRamsey
LocalitySt. Paul
Latitude44.9444
Longitude-93.0931
Institution CodeKu
Collection CodeSemc
Catalog Number1139515
Collected ByGranovsky, A
Date Collected1934-06-25

From Recordset

http://biodiversity.ku.edu/entomology/collections

SEMC (Snow Entomological Museum Collection) comprises nearly 5 million pinned insect specimens. Our strengths are Apoidea, Neotropical Coleoptera (especially Staphylinidae, Hydrophiloidea, and Chrysomoloidea), Mecoptera, and fossil insects. We have digitized approximately 800,000 individual specimens (mostly Apoidea and Staphylinidae, Orthoptera, and various other smaller families).

Contacts

Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Michael Engel
RoleCurator in Charge
Emailmsengel@ku.edu
Name Caroline Chaboo
RoleCurator
Emailcschaboo@ku.edu
Name Andrew Short
RoleCurator
Emailaezshort@ku.edu
Name Laura Russell
RoleVertNet Programmer
Emaillarussell@ku.edu
Name Zack Falin
RoleCollection Manager
Emailksem@ku.edu
  • Data
  • Flags
  • Raw
Taxonomy
Scientific NameSigara decorata
KingdomAnimalia
PhylumArthropoda
ClassInsecta
OrderHemiptera
FamilyCorixidae
GenusSigara
Specific Epithetdecorata
Specimen
Catalog Number1139515
PreparationsPinned - 1
Life Stageadult
SexM
Institution CodeKU
Collection CodeSEMC
Occurrence ID4d5f3d7d-1ed6-11e3-bfac-90b11c41863e
Dataset NameSnow Entomological Museum Collection
Basis of RecordPreservedSpecimen
Associated Mediahttp://biimages.biodiversity.ku.edu/static/Entomology/originals/sp68471769725912206694.att.JPG
Collection Event
Collected ByGranovsky, A
Date Collected1934-06-25
Year1934
Month6
Day25
Locality
CountryUnited States
State / ProvinceMinnesota
CountyRamsey
Higher GeographyUnited States, Minnesota, Ramsey
ContinentNearctic
LocalitySt. Paul
Habitatlight, at
Decimal Latitude44.9444
Decimal Longitude-93.0931
specimen list