× Take our 30-second survey
The U.S. National Science Foundation and iDigBio are required to collect information on use of digitized collections-based specimen data. Please help us meet this requirement every time you use this search portal. Sustainability of the national digitization effort depends on evidence of data use! Maybe later.

Specimen Record

ContinentNorth America
CountryCosta Rica
State/ProvinceHeredia
LocalityLa Selva, W River Trail
Latitude10.4333333
Longitude-84.0166667
Institution CodeKu
Collection CodeSemc
Catalog Number810450
Collected ByBell, William
Date Collected1992-02-14

From Recordset

http://biodiversity.ku.edu/entomology/collections

SEMC (Snow Entomological Museum Collection) comprises nearly 5 million pinned insect specimens. Our strengths are Apoidea, Neotropical Coleoptera (especially Staphylinidae, Hydrophiloidea, and Chrysomoloidea), Mecoptera, and fossil insects. We have digitized approximately 800,000 individual specimens (mostly Apoidea and Staphylinidae, Orthoptera, and various other smaller families).

Contacts

Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Michael Engel
RoleCurator in Charge
Emailmsengel@ku.edu
Name Caroline Chaboo
RoleCurator
Emailcschaboo@ku.edu
Name Andrew Short
RoleCurator
Emailaezshort@ku.edu
Name Laura Russell
RoleVertNet Programmer
Emaillarussell@ku.edu
Name Zack Falin
RoleCollection Manager
Emailksem@ku.edu
  • Data
  • Flags
  • Raw
Taxonomy
Scientific NameBethylidae
KingdomAnimalia
PhylumArthropoda
ClassInsecta
OrderHymenoptera
FamilyBethylidae
Specimen
Identified ByEngel, Michael
Date Identified2017
Catalog Number810450
PreparationsPinned - 1
Life Stageadult
Institution CodeKU
Collection CodeSEMC
Occurrence ID23a05688-1ed6-11e3-bfac-90b11c41863e
Dataset NameSnow Entomological Museum Collection
Basis of RecordPreservedSpecimen
Associated Mediahttp://biimages.biodiversity.ku.edu/static/Entomology/originals/sp65509452959025515963.att.JPG
Collection Event
Collected ByBell, William
Date Collected1992-02-14
Year1992
Month2
Day14
Locality
CountryCosta Rica
State / ProvinceHeredia
Higher GeographyCosta Rica, Heredia
ContinentNeotropical
LocalityLa Selva, W River Trail
Decimal Latitude10.4333333
Decimal Longitude-84.0166667
Maximum Elevation in Meters100
Minimum Elevation in Meters100
specimen list