× Take our 30-second survey
The U.S. National Science Foundation and iDigBio are required to collect information on use of digitized collections-based specimen data. Please help us meet this requirement every time you use this search portal. Sustainability of the national digitization effort depends on evidence of data use! Maybe later.

Specimen Record

ContinentNorth America
CountryNicaragua
State/ProvinceGranada
LocalityReserva Domitila
Latitude11.7083333
Longitude-85.9533333
Institution CodeKu
Collection CodeSemc
Catalog Number536622
Collected ByBrooks, R, Falin, Z, & Chatzimanolis, S
Date Collected2002-06-07

From Recordset

http://biodiversity.ku.edu/entomology/collections

SEMC (Snow Entomological Museum Collection) comprises nearly 5 million pinned insect specimens. Our strengths are Apoidea, Neotropical Coleoptera (especially Staphylinidae, Hydrophiloidea, and Chrysomoloidea), Mecoptera, and fossil insects. We have digitized approximately 800,000 individual specimens (mostly Apoidea and Staphylinidae, Orthoptera, and various other smaller families).

Contacts

Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Michael Engel
RoleCurator in Charge
Emailmsengel@ku.edu
Name Caroline Chaboo
RoleCurator
Emailcschaboo@ku.edu
Name Andrew Short
RoleCurator
Emailaezshort@ku.edu
Name Laura Russell
RoleVertNet Programmer
Emaillarussell@ku.edu
Name Zack Falin
RoleCollection Manager
Emailksem@ku.edu
  • Data
  • Flags
  • Raw
Taxonomy
Scientific NameBrentidae
KingdomAnimalia
PhylumArthropoda
ClassInsecta
OrderColeoptera
FamilyBrentidae
Specimen
Identified ByChatzimanolis, Stelianos
Catalog Number536622
PreparationsPinned - 1
Life Stageadult
Institution CodeKU
Collection CodeSEMC
Occurrence ID1b110494-1ed6-11e3-bfac-90b11c41863e
Dataset NameSnow Entomological Museum Collection
Basis of RecordPreservedSpecimen
Collection Event
Collected ByBrooks, R, Falin, Z, & Chatzimanolis, S
Date Collected2002-06-07
Year2002
Month6
Day7
Locality
CountryNicaragua
State / ProvinceGranada
Higher GeographyNicaragua, Granada
ContinentNeotropical
LocalityReserva Domitila
Habitatbark, guanacaste, fallen, on
Decimal Latitude11.7083333
Decimal Longitude-85.9533333
Maximum Elevation in Meters100
Minimum Elevation in Meters100
Georeference ProtocolGPS
specimen list