× Take our 30-second survey
The U.S. National Science Foundation and iDigBio are required to collect information on use of digitized collections-based specimen data. Please help us meet this requirement every time you use this search portal. Sustainability of the national digitization effort depends on evidence of data use! Maybe later.

Specimen Record

ContinentSouth America
CountryVenezuela
State/ProvinceTrujillo
LocalityCa. 10 Km E La Cieba, By Cemetary
Latitude9.4750833
Longitude-70.95575000000001
Institution CodeKu
Collection CodeSemc
Catalog Number1031032
Collected ByShort, Arias, Gustafson
Date Collected2012-01-28

From Recordset

http://biodiversity.ku.edu/entomology/collections

SEMC (Snow Entomological Museum Collection) comprises nearly 5 million pinned insect specimens. Our strengths are Apoidea, Neotropical Coleoptera (especially Staphylinidae, Hydrophiloidea, and Chrysomoloidea), Mecoptera, and fossil insects. We have digitized approximately 800,000 individual specimens (mostly Apoidea and Staphylinidae, Orthoptera, and various other smaller families).

Contacts

Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Michael Engel
RoleCurator in Charge
Emailmsengel@ku.edu
Name Caroline Chaboo
RoleCurator
Emailcschaboo@ku.edu
Name Andrew Short
RoleCurator
Emailaezshort@ku.edu
Name Laura Russell
RoleVertNet Programmer
Emaillarussell@ku.edu
Name Zack Falin
RoleCollection Manager
Emailksem@ku.edu
  • Data
  • Flags
  • Raw
Taxonomy
Scientific NameEnochrus
KingdomAnimalia
PhylumArthropoda
ClassInsecta
OrderColeoptera
FamilyHydrophilidae
GenusEnochrus
Specimen
Identified ByShort, Andrew
Date Identified2012
Catalog Number1031032
Institution CodeKU
Collection CodeSEMC
Occurrence ID4515d5bc-1ed6-11e3-bfac-90b11c41863e
Dataset NameSnow Entomological Museum Collection
Basis of RecordPreservedSpecimen
Collection Event
Collected ByShort, Arias, Gustafson
Date Collected2012-01-28
Year2012
Month1
Day28
Locality
CountryVenezuela
State / ProvinceTrujillo
Higher GeographyVenezuela, Trujillo
ContinentNeotropical
Localityca. 10 km E La Cieba, by cemetary
Decimal Latitude9.4750833
Decimal Longitude-70.9557500
Maximum Elevation in Meters18
Minimum Elevation in Meters18
Georeference ProtocolGPS
Geodetic DatumWGS84
specimen list