× Take our 30-second survey
The U.S. National Science Foundation and iDigBio are required to collect information on use of digitized collections-based specimen data. Please help us meet this requirement every time you use this search portal. Sustainability of the national digitization effort depends on evidence of data use! Maybe later.

Specimen Record

ContinentAsia
CountrySri Lanka
State/ProvinceNorth Western Province
LocalityNikeweratiya
Latitude7.75
Longitude80.17
Institution CodeUsnm
Collection CodeMamm
Catalog NumberUsnm 256739
Collected ByW. Schofield
Date Collected1931-09-21

From Recordset

http://collections.nmnh.si.edu

Public records of accessioned specimens and observations curated by the National Museum of Natural History, Smithsonian Institution. These data are from the Departments of Botany, Entomology, Invertebrate Zoology and Vertebrate Zoology (Amphibians & Reptiles, Birds, Fishes, and Mammals) and include more than 270,000 primary type specimen records.

Contacts

Name Thomas Orrell
RoleDeputy Director, Research Informatics Program
Emailorrellt@si.edu
Name Informatics Office
RoleIPT Administrator
Emailinformaticshelp@si.edu
Name Thomas Orrell
RoleDeputy Director, Research Informatics Program
Emailorrellt@si.edu
Name Informatics Office
RoleIPT Administrator
Emailinformaticshelp@si.edu
Name Chris Tuccinardi
RoleInformation Management
Emailtuccinar@si.edu
Name Karen Reed
RoleData Manager
Emailreedk@si.edu
Name Jessica Bird
RoleCollections Information Manager
Emailbirdj@si.edu
Name Jeff Williams
RoleCollection Manager
Emailwilliamsjt@si.edu
Name Kenneth Tighe
RoleDatabase Coordinator
Emailtighek@si.edu
Name Brian Schmidt
RoleMuseum Specialist
Emailschmidtb@si.edu
Name Ingrid Rochon
RoleScientific Data Manager
Emailrochoni@si.edu
Name Thomas Orrell
RoleDeputy Director, Research Informatics Program
Emailorrellt@si.edu
Name Informatics Office
RoleIPT Administrator
Emailinformaticshelp@si.edu
  • Data
  • Flags
  • Raw
Taxonomy
Scientific NameLoris lydekkerianus
Higher ClassficationAnimalia, Chordata, Vertebrata, Mammalia, Eutheria, Primates, Strepsirrhini, Lorisidae
KingdomAnimalia
PhylumChordata
ClassMammalia
OrderPrimates
FamilyLorisidae
GenusLoris
Specific Epithetlydekkerianus
Specimen
Identified ByHelgen, Kristofer M., University of Adelaide (AUSTRALIA)
Catalog NumberUSNM 256739
PreparationsSkin; Skull; Skeleton
Individual Count1
SexMale
Institution CodeUSNM
Collection CodeMAMM
Occurrence IDhttp://n2t.net/ark:/65665/328239177-6943-4fbd-89ab-d97217d05252
Dataset NameNMNH Extant Biology
Basis of RecordPreservedSpecimen
Type of ResourcePhysicalObject
Associated Media14600756
Collection Event
Collected ByW. Schofield
Collector Number37
Date Collected1931-09-21
Verbatim Date Collected21 Sep 1931
Year1931
Month9
Day21
Start Day of Year264
End Day of Year264
Locality
CountrySri Lanka
State / ProvinceNorth Western Province
Higher GeographyAsia, Sri Lanka, North Western Province
ContinentAsia
LocalityNikeweratiya
Decimal Latitude7.75
Decimal Longitude80.17
Verbatim Latitude07 45 -- N
Verbatim Longitude080 10 -- E
Other
Modified2020-04-06 15:17:00
IDhttp://n2t.net/ark:/65665/328239177-6943-4fbd-89ab-d97217d05252
dwc:datasetID7ddf754f-d193-4cc9-b351-99906754a03b
dwc:collectionIDurn:uuid:59e56a59-8615-4e0c-841d-eb88f3876b22
dwc:occurrenceStatusPRESENT
dwc:institutionIDurn:lsid:biocol.org:col:34871
dwc:verbatimCoordinateSystemDegrees Minutes Seconds
specimen list