× Take our 30-second survey
The U.S. National Science Foundation and iDigBio are required to collect information on use of digitized collections-based specimen data. Please help us meet this requirement every time you use this search portal. Sustainability of the national digitization effort depends on evidence of data use! Maybe later.

Specimen Record

ContinentSouth America
CountryGuyana
State/ProvinceUpper Takutu-upper Essequibo
LocalityDadanawa, 20 Mi E, Kuitaro River
Institution CodeUsnm
Collection CodeMamm
Catalog NumberUsnm 336983
Collected ByS. Brock

From Recordset

http://collections.nmnh.si.edu

Public records of accessioned specimens and observations curated by the National Museum of Natural History, Smithsonian Institution. These data are from the Departments of Botany, Entomology, Invertebrate Zoology and Vertebrate Zoology (Amphibians & Reptiles, Birds, Fishes, and Mammals) and include more than 270,000 primary type specimen records.

Contacts

Name Thomas Orrell
RoleDeputy Director, Research Informatics Program
Emailorrellt@si.edu
Name Informatics Office
RoleIPT Administrator
Emailinformaticshelp@si.edu
Name Thomas Orrell
RoleDeputy Director, Research Informatics Program
Emailorrellt@si.edu
Name Informatics Office
RoleIPT Administrator
Emailinformaticshelp@si.edu
Name Chris Tuccinardi
RoleInformation Management
Emailtuccinar@si.edu
Name Karen Reed
RoleData Manager
Emailreedk@si.edu
Name Jessica Bird
RoleCollections Information Manager
Emailbirdj@si.edu
Name Jeff Williams
RoleCollection Manager
Emailwilliamsjt@si.edu
Name Kenneth Tighe
RoleDatabase Coordinator
Emailtighek@si.edu
Name Brian Schmidt
RoleMuseum Specialist
Emailschmidtb@si.edu
Name Ingrid Rochon
RoleScientific Data Manager
Emailrochoni@si.edu
Name Thomas Orrell
RoleDeputy Director, Research Informatics Program
Emailorrellt@si.edu
Name Informatics Office
RoleIPT Administrator
Emailinformaticshelp@si.edu
  • Data
  • Flags
  • Raw
Taxonomy
Scientific NameSaimiri sciureus sciureus
Higher ClassficationAnimalia, Chordata, Vertebrata, Mammalia, Eutheria, Primates, Haplorrhini, Cebidae, Saimiriinae
KingdomAnimalia
PhylumChordata
ClassMammalia
OrderPrimates
FamilyCebidae
GenusSaimiri
Specific Epithetsciureus
Infraspecific Epithetsciureus
Taxon Ranksubspecies
Specimen
Catalog NumberUSNM 336983
PreparationsSkin; Skull
Individual Count1
SexMale
Institution CodeUSNM
Collection CodeMAMM
Occurrence IDhttp://n2t.net/ark:/65665/3c6094410-5ac9-4170-b1ea-9b08521214c9
Dataset NameNMNH Extant Biology
Basis of RecordPreservedSpecimen
Type of ResourcePhysicalObject
Associated Media14547215
Associated Sequenceshttps://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/gquery?term=KM234510|https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/gquery?term=KM234586
Collection Event
Collected ByS. Brock
Collector NumberNo Number
Verbatim Date Collected-- -- 1963
Year1963
Month0
Day0
Collection RemarksLynch Alfaro, et al. Biogeography of squirrel monkeys (genus Saimiri): south-central Amazon origin and rapid pan-Amazonian diversification of a lowland primate. Mol. Phylogenet. Evol. (2014).
Locality
CountryGuyana
State / ProvinceUpper Takutu-Upper Essequibo
Higher GeographySouth America, Guyana, Upper Takutu-Upper Essequibo
ContinentSouth America
LocalityDadanawa, 20 Mi E, Kuitaro River
HabitatForest
Other
Modified2020-03-25 10:10:00
IDhttp://n2t.net/ark:/65665/3c6094410-5ac9-4170-b1ea-9b08521214c9
dwc:datasetID7ddf754f-d193-4cc9-b351-99906754a03b
dwc:collectionIDurn:uuid:59e56a59-8615-4e0c-841d-eb88f3876b22
dwc:occurrenceStatusPRESENT
dwc:institutionIDurn:lsid:biocol.org:col:34871
specimen list