× Take our 30-second survey
The U.S. National Science Foundation and iDigBio are required to collect information on use of digitized collections-based specimen data. Please help us meet this requirement every time you use this search portal. Sustainability of the national digitization effort depends on evidence of data use! Maybe later.

Specimen Record

ContinentArctic Ocean
CountryUnited States
State/ProvinceArizona
County/ParishPima
LocalityBox Canyon, 4 Mi W
Latitude31.80167
Longitude-110.8753
Institution CodeKu
Collection CodeSemc
Catalog Number1165979
Collected ByBrooks, Robert
Date Collected1977-08-25

From Recordset

http://biodiversity.ku.edu/entomology/collections

SEMC (Snow Entomological Museum Collection) comprises nearly 5 million pinned insect specimens. Our strengths are Apoidea, Neotropical Coleoptera (especially Staphylinidae, Hydrophiloidea, and Chrysomoloidea), Mecoptera, and fossil insects. We have digitized approximately 800,000 individual specimens (mostly Apoidea and Staphylinidae, Orthoptera, and various other smaller families).

Contacts

Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Michael Engel
RoleCurator in Charge
Emailmsengel@ku.edu
Name Caroline Chaboo
RoleCurator
Emailcschaboo@ku.edu
Name Andrew Short
RoleCurator
Emailaezshort@ku.edu
Name Laura Russell
RoleVertNet Programmer
Emaillarussell@ku.edu
Name Zack Falin
RoleCollection Manager
Emailksem@ku.edu
  • Data
  • Flags
  • Raw
Taxonomy
Scientific NameMegachile
KingdomAnimalia
PhylumArthropoda
ClassInsecta
OrderHymenoptera
FamilyMegachilidae
GenusMegachile
Specimen
Catalog Number1165979
PreparationsPinned - 1
Life Stageadult
Institution CodeKU
Collection CodeSEMC
Occurrence ID4ca83bff-1ed6-11e3-bfac-90b11c41863e
Dataset NameSnow Entomological Museum Collection
Basis of RecordPreservedSpecimen
Associated Mediahttp://biimages.biodiversity.ku.edu/static/Entomology/originals/sp63216917238381950209.att.JPG
Associated TaxaHelianthus annuus
Collection Event
Collected ByBrooks, Robert
Date Collected1977-08-25
Year1977
Month8
Day25
Locality
CountryUnited States
State / ProvinceArizona
CountyPima
Higher GeographyUnited States, Arizona, Pima
ContinentNearctic
LocalityBox Canyon, 4 mi W
Decimal Latitude31.80167
Decimal Longitude-110.8753
specimen list