× Take our 30-second survey
The U.S. National Science Foundation and iDigBio are required to collect information on use of digitized collections-based specimen data. Please help us meet this requirement every time you use this search portal. Sustainability of the national digitization effort depends on evidence of data use! Maybe later.

Specimen Record

ContinentNorth America
CountryNicaragua
State/ProvinceRio San Juan
LocalityEl Castillo Refugio Bartola, 8km Se
Latitude10.9766667
Longitude-84.34
Institution CodeKu
Collection CodeSemc
Catalog Number561593
Collected ByPeck, Stuart
Date Collected2002-05-23

From Recordset

http://biodiversity.ku.edu/entomology/collections

SEMC (Snow Entomological Museum Collection) comprises nearly 5 million pinned insect specimens. Our strengths are Apoidea, Neotropical Coleoptera (especially Staphylinidae, Hydrophiloidea, and Chrysomoloidea), Mecoptera, and fossil insects. We have digitized approximately 800,000 individual specimens (mostly Apoidea and Staphylinidae, Orthoptera, and various other smaller families).

Contacts

Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Jennifer Thomas
RoleAssistant Collection Manager
Emailjct@ku.edu
Name Michael Engel
RoleCurator in Charge
Emailmsengel@ku.edu
Name Caroline Chaboo
RoleCurator
Emailcschaboo@ku.edu
Name Andrew Short
RoleCurator
Emailaezshort@ku.edu
Name Laura Russell
RoleVertNet Programmer
Emaillarussell@ku.edu
Name Zack Falin
RoleCollection Manager
Emailksem@ku.edu
  • Data
  • Flags
  • Raw
Taxonomy
Scientific NameEndomychidae
KingdomAnimalia
PhylumArthropoda
ClassInsecta
OrderColeoptera
FamilyEndomychidae
Specimen
Identified ByFalin, Zachary
Date Identified2003
Catalog Number561593
PreparationsPinned - 1
Life Stageadult
Institution CodeKU
Collection CodeSEMC
Occurrence ID1d6e1e48-1ed6-11e3-bfac-90b11c41863e
Dataset NameSnow Entomological Museum Collection
Basis of RecordPreservedSpecimen
Collection Event
Collected ByPeck, Stuart
Date Collected2002-05-23
Year2002
Month5
Day23
Locality
CountryNicaragua
State / ProvinceRio San Juan
Higher GeographyNicaragua, Rio San Juan
ContinentNeotropical
LocalityEl Castillo Refugio Bartola, 8km SE
Decimal Latitude10.9766667
Decimal Longitude-84.3400000
Maximum Elevation in Meters30
Minimum Elevation in Meters30
specimen list